Bangkok 21-24 May 05

Bangkok montageLike getting re-acquainted with a long-lost friend. I reached home poorer, but felt much richer. I was exhausted, but totally re-energised. Ignorant, yet learned. Bangkok is my perpetual treasure trove. I brought back diamonds of clothing, pearls of home decor, rubies of snacks and ate sapphires of great food.

This trip marked a few firsts. This is the first time I’m on a plane again since that panic episode more than 3 years ago. It is also the first time I visited Ayuttaya and the first time I went single. Not that that matters…

Much had remained the same even though I had not visited in 5 years. One pleasant change though is that it’s easier to get a cab now and they’re in better condition. Also, the drivers do not hagger for the fare now and charges are by the meter. Anyway, here’re some travel facts :

Air ticket : S$179.00 (Tiger Airways)

Accomodation : Bab Barr (1,444 bht), Silom Serene (2,200 bht). Total 3 nights stay : 5,844 bht (S$246.58). Approx. S$123.29/pax

Exchange rate : S$1.00 to 23.70 bht

Ayuttaya Day Trip : 2,000 bht (+ 300 bht long-tail boat)

Took 9-seater mini van, 45 mins to reach Summer Palace, then 45 mins long-tail boat ride to outskirt of Ayuttaya followed by 30 mins van ride to Ayuttaya, then 3-hours boat ride along Chao Praya river back to Bangkok. Trip duration : 7am – 4pm.

Taxi fare : Upon boarding, 35 bht. Every increment is 2 bht.

Toll charges : When using the expressway, there’re toll charges ranging from 30 – 40 bht.

Bangkok Airport tax : 500 bht. Dispensed through machines at the airport.

On the whole, this trip was fantastic. A few feathers were ruffled and I almost got into a fight with someone, but thankfully I thought better of it. I am glad I was able to hold myself back now. If it had been years before, I may had expressed myself through my knuckles. Anyway, thanks to all my friends who took a chance and took the flight with me. Even though I felt a little uncomfortable initially when I boarded the plane, I made it there. And back!

More photos and travelogue in my photo album, Bangkok Rebirth, http://www.darren_ng.blogs.friendster.com.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nonkie
    Jun 17, 2005 @ 16:32:22

    mmm…what’s that dish of stuff below the buddha’s head? hopefully crabs though they look kinda like rats..*faint*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

