Our own reality show

Image hosted by Photobucket.comOne house, ten contestants, thirty cameras, forty microphones, one murder.and no evidence. Dead Famous is a killer read from Ben Elton – Reality TV as you’ve never seen it before.

It’s a current affairs book in the realm of reality television. We’ve watch ‘real’ people in ‘real’ situations, how about solving a real murder with real suspects? Now, that’s drama. That’s what this book is about with tons of digs at the psycho-emotional profile of reality TV contestants, the people who watch them and the people who made them. All the contestants in the book come across as shallow, vain exhibitionists. By writing this blog and the many others before it, am I not an exhibitionist as well? Blogging, it seems, is our very own reality show.

The book portrayed the characters with very little respect. They’re ever so self-important and silly; and being manipulated by sex-hungry studio executives. Sex and conflicts, according to the unofficial guide to good television, are the reasons people watch reality shows. Sometimes, I think I’m silly (if not most of the time). I’m silly sitting here writing my silly comments that amount to nothing. Talking about my silly life and having my silly opinions.

But I’m dead wrong. I was surprised friends actually called me to check on how I’m doing after reading my blogs… or the many comments and encouragements that were left in my entries. That’s nice. Life moves forward because of that.
Image hosted by Photobucket.comSo, I’m pretty much done with fiction for the time being and bought a Anthony Robbins book – Unlimited Power : The new science of personal achievement. I have my doubts about self-help books. I mean, I’ve read a few of them (Edward De Bono, Dale Carnegie, Robert Kiyosaki) but never from cover to cover. They just can’t be read like a novel. Lots of people say that this motivational self-help stuff is crap. But I think it’s crap because they never have the courage to let go of their pride and actually taking action.

I don’t where this book will take me, but the book’s declaration that, “Anthony Robbins calls it the new science of personal achievement. You’ll call it the best thing that ever happened to you” pretty much sank the hook. What am I looking for? Well, to keep myself going, to keep the people around me going. Especially in the profession that I’m in, motivation is very much the business… the business of managing myself. Hopefully I’ll experience an enlightened reality looking at things through the thoughts of more established minds.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. runecircle
    Jul 10, 2005 @ 12:32:18

    ben elton rocks. i like popcorn (play version).
    re: blogging
    there are many ways to look at that. many. and there are even more reasons why people blog, and for what they blog.
    i might just go borrow dead famous.
    don’t worry about the whole “motivational self-help stuff is crap” thing. some people really do get motivated and “take action” though, so it’s not entirely trash. i guess it should be seen as something that fulfills, rather than give results. hell, even the bible is pretty much a big self-help book, if we were allowed the license of spectrum.
    be well

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Jul 11, 2005 @ 08:04:36

      Hmm… probably I’ll pop some corn after I’ve done some motivation. The books definitely don’t give results. It’s the actions I take that will :o)
      Yup, there’re many reasons why people write blogs, I was just examining my own… or the effect of it. But I am glad for this online community. And I always enjoy reading your entries… they’re always spunky and have a certain ‘wickedness’ (in a good way) to them.
      Keep it going :o)

      Reply

      • runecircle
        Jul 12, 2005 @ 05:08:27

        good. self-reflection is one of the paths to inner growth. all the best, darren.
        haha, maybe coz i’m a little devil myself. gwahahah.
        have a good tues

  2. muddynights
    Jul 10, 2005 @ 15:15:43

    yes. i agree. blogging is very much our own reality show.
    only thing is, we can choose to censor whatever we write, drive the story to whatever point we have in mind, or choose not to appear as vain exhibitionists.

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Jul 11, 2005 @ 08:12:59

      Well, blogging has its many benefits and self-advertising is not a bad thing. It got us talking didn’t it? ha. Have a great week and looking for more entries from you :o)

      Reply

  3. kissingpanda
    Jul 11, 2005 @ 08:06:44

    Through blogging, I meet up many new and interesting friends. Someone I never thought of meeting in the past. It certainly make my life more interesting too.

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Jul 11, 2005 @ 08:16:35

      Yup, yup. I would not get the chance to talk to you if not for our blogs :o) it’s like a trial pack for friendship. You know the good before you decide to buy them :o)

      Reply

      • kissingpanda
        Jul 11, 2005 @ 08:25:57

        But sometime the packaging is so good that make you buy it. But when you open it, you find out it is actually some bad goods. Well, I am NOT refering to you or myself lah. Haha..:-))

Leave a Reply

