My eyes saw (sore)

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Did an evening for myself mid-December 05 after all the parties and being with people. It was nice to just have tuna salad in front of my TV set giving myself the spooks. Hmm… maybe coz I hang around with frightening friends so much, I can’t go by a night without scares. With the lights turned down low and dim, I watched The Maid and Ju-On Prequel on VCD.

Then with the start of the new year, I saw In Her Shoes on Tuesday (3 Jan) and The Heirloom on Wednesday (4 Jan). I think I’m too free. Anyway, here’re my takes on the movies, though subjective, may save some of you $$ on movie tickets, purchase or rental.

THE MAID

Err… what? Did I watch this movie? Oh subconscious mind, you are telling me I actually saw this movie and don’t remember nuts about it except Benny Soh’s great acting and the inane dialoguer that kept repeating, “It’s late, better go to sleep.” You mean that wasn’t actually telling me to sleep instead of wasting time with this well-marketed lullaby? Oh… What again??? Counting what little hair I have left on my head would have been scarier?

JU-ON : THE PREQUEL

Saw Ju-On, Ju-On 2 and now the Prequel. I’m still getting goosebumps mentioning this the name. The style of story-telling may be confusing for those seeing any of the series for the first time, but after you know how the story unfolds as each character folds into each other, the spook never ends. Ju-On doesn’t rely much on sudden, loud sound bites to scare, but by the mere suggestion what is going to happen. The suspense is gripping even though the ‘ghost’ moved like a decapitated iguana. A mother and son team in horror… sh*t, peed in my shorts again. How many times this movie wants me to change my briefs? I’m so buying the whole series. And my mum can do more laundry.

IN HER SHOES

Another one of those reconciliation movies. But this one must’ve outdone them all with sisters patching up with each other, lovers swearing forever love, strained mother-in-law and son-in-law relationship mended, and lazy girl gets emotional with dying old professor. As you can expect with movies like these, there’re a lot of talking. First half of the movie will establish the strained and strange relationships each character is having with each, then the next half is the Kleenex segment where everyone feels so good and ‘the world is so beautiful’ from hence on. Crap. I would be more entertaining if you paid me S$8.50. To me, this is a tired story, but not unwatchable.

THE HEIRLOOM

The scariest thing about this movie is how the long, jet-black hair of the female protagonist looms from scene to scene. This movie had a production the budget of my bank account… which is pathetic. Don’t expect fancy special effects or make-up scarier than me in drag (now, that’s really scary), all you get is a loopy storyline as confusing as Michael Jackson’s gender. The opening sequence of the movie with numerous pairs of dangling feet worked very well. And it should’ve ended there. Or if you take my advice, walk out after you had seen that scene for nothing else that followed would quicken your heartbeat above the rate of a deep slumber.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. agooddaytolive
    Jan 05, 2006 @ 07:59:05

    I actually watched Ju-On1, Ju-On2 and prequel alone at home, before the Grudge came out. Unfortunately, I do miss coming back to watch people dying in the movie. It was not that scary for me though.

    Reply

  2. lyph
    Jan 05, 2006 @ 12:46:28

    i hate ju-on.. so NOT scary one!!! spend half the time wondering what the fuck pple screaming for.. and another half wondering who the heck is this and where the freaking plot is going!:P
    hehehe… i pay you $8.50.. how u gonna entertain me?;P

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Jun 11, 2007 @ 15:58:27

    ok, i’d not done the cupping thing b4. it looks damn painful. =x but i definitely swear by accupuncture (in the right hands of course). hope u are feeling better!
    ps. but isnt doing everything in one shot kinda too much?
    ps 2. the unsexy love bites on ur back are really scary. -.-

    Reply

  4. Anonymous
    Jun 11, 2007 @ 15:58:27

    ok, i’d not done the cupping thing b4. it looks damn painful. =x but i definitely swear by accupuncture (in the right hands of course). hope u are feeling better!
    ps. but isnt doing everything in one shot kinda too much?
    ps 2. the unsexy love bites on ur back are really scary. -.-

    Reply

Leave a Reply

