A Book, A Phone, A Nun and Some Nasty Slugs

Sgsportingicon3
Singapore Sporting Icons Series 3

Yay… finally the book that I had contributed articles for is published – Singapore Sporting Icons Series 3 : A Fledging Sporting Singapore. This is the third installment of a book series about athletes and the sporting scene in the country. I spent a lot of time writing the 6 stories ranging in length from 3,000 to about 6,000 words. The writing fees for this project were really modest, but I learnt a lot more about the economy of sports and also, for the book to add credence to my literary portfolio. Hopefully more writing jobs will be sentenced to me soon.

Nokia 6280

Upgraded my mobile set to the Nokia 6280 on 28 May for S$38 with a 2-year contract renewal with Singtel. It is true that ‘good things don’t come cheap, and cheap things are not good’. I’m now anemic from the amount of blood I vomited over this handset. First of all, the phone is so long-winded when it comes to sms. I must go through like a zillion steps to send a message.

Then the phone keeps getting its reception cuts off. In places where my friends with Singtel have full reception, my slider phone records no signal. I had to switch the phone on an off ever so often just to reinstate the signal connection.

Finally, the music player should be called a party pooper. It’ll play music for a while, then halfway through, it’ll stop and the screen blacks out. If it’s mood is good, it’ll function properly. Otherwise, I’ll have to start and restart the player. All these problems I encountered the 2nd day I got the phone. Maybe it’s just that the handset I got was faulty. Will probably send it to be looked at before I get hypertensive.

The Nun that Slither

Slither_poster

Out of self amusement, I went for 2 movies back-to-back yesterday (8 Jun) at Orchard Cineleisure. I’m a big fan of horror so I had about 210 mins of scares, or should I say, bedtime stories. I caught the 9.30pm Slither first and was stupefied by the B minus minus grade of the show. The movie had more cheese than a guy who hasn’t wanked since 1980. You could easily mistake it for one of those 80s horror classics such as The Blob or those cheap monster flicks. That crash-landing-alien-feasting-on-humans storyline is floor-licking blandness that could only be spoilt further by a pretentious love story between beauty and the beast. But this movie had a sense of humour that is disarming and really quite funny. My favourite scene is the one where a hunter didn’t realized he was split into half by the creature, and as he was standing there contemplating what had happened, he opened right in the middle from top to crotch, with a spontaneous spill-flow of his stomach and guts. Awesome. This movie is definitely homage to all the sci-fi horror of my bygone primary school years.


The_nun_1 After I slithered out at 11.15pm, I went to the box office and bought myself The Nun for 11:30pm. Why do I never learn? For those sacredly cats with balls the size of chick-peas, this would be a good practice movie for you. Besides the cool effects of the levitating waters, nothing else could wash this piece of screen sin clean. The script tells of an abusive nun drowned by 6 of her pupils and 18 years later, came back for vengeance slaughter. This punishable 2-hour movie offered little gore, kindergarten special effects, and a clumsy ending that is a total Sixth Sense rip-off. The only thing that admits this waste of film into the scare genre would be the horrific acting and equally inane dialogues.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gentlegiantt
    Jun 09, 2006 @ 16:25:40

    wld like to grab a copy and read what u wrote soon!

    Reply

  2. kerubin
    Jun 09, 2006 @ 17:46:57

    i watch the 2 show few weeks back in a 8 days double deal…haha
    🙂

    Reply

  3. khonlynxx
    Jun 10, 2006 @ 01:07:27

    ooo! me like to read too =)
    I always have the impression that nokia is simple n user friendly. well, you’ve 7 working days, still can pull off a diva fit if you want a change =P

    Reply

  4. kykydiary
    Jun 10, 2006 @ 07:51:25

    Smart boy 😉

    Reply

  5. styloh
    Jun 15, 2006 @ 15:02:20

    My understanding: Nokia will only repair the handset. They will not change it as compared to other brands.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

