The Lure

[30 JAN 2007]

The lure was too great. What with per month costing merely S$40 and a club just 15 minutes away by foot, I couldn’t resist… I’ve become a Californator. At least for the next 3.5 years.

I think it’s a pretty good deal. I won’t call it a steal but at S$1,667.40 for three-and-half years, the math divides to only S$10 more for what I’m paying at SAFRA a month. Though I had resisted the idea of joining California Fitness for the longest time, it makes more economic sense for me to take up the membership now. With SAFRA, I have to pay S$30 a month but walk 30 mins to get to the clubhouse at Toa Payoh. By paying S$10 extra, I walk 15 mins (to the Novena Cali gym) and can even workout till 12 midnight (SAFRA Energyone gyms close at 10pm). Though I would miss the lesser populace of SAFRA gyms, I found that going to Cali gyms in the afternoons can grant me the same bliss. Well, at least the Novena outlet is not a sardine jacket… yet.

Furthermore, there’re lots of classes to break the monotony of a workout. Sometimes I really dread going to the gym, picking up the weights and putting myself to strain. But with the classes, I can just attend and let the group’s energy ‘force’ a workout on me. After that, I would be suitably warmed-up to carry on with the weight-training. If left on my own with just the weights, chances are, I would’ve more excuses to skip a gym session altogether.

But the fitness classes ain’t easy. I jab like an epileptic mantis in the Bodycombat session and spread like an arthritic donkey on the yoga mat. Everytime I prayed I won’t be singled out by the instructor, and wished even harder still that the other gym-goers won’t look through the glass panels and get into fits for my lack of bodily coordination. And those trained eyes… they might as well have been just released for Play.

Talking about coordination, I’ve learnt that my gym gear must coordinate in order to blend in. No longer can I wear those moth-chewed faded t-shirts or what I got out of bed in to be a Californator. I don’t have those Nike lycra singlets or Adidas shorts, but I better make sure I color-match; even my socks and shoes, and water bottle. And let’s not forget my gym bag. Ok, maybe I’m exaggerating, but everyone seemed too dressed to get dirty.

I’ll miss those resort feel that the SAFRA gyms provide and the convenience of having a swim and working out all in one place.  I would also definitely miss the cardio classes taught by Fiona, where over time, the whole class had bonded and became friends. Lastly, I’ll miss those ego moments when I can be the only guy with a half-decent body at SAFRA. In Cali, there’re more buffed up peacocks than Deepavali can pluck the feathers of. Motivation is born out of jealousy; but more often than not, I feel intimidated and get reminded of my inadequacies over and over. Sounds like I joined Cali to be insecure. Anyhow, I had made the switch. It’s too late to regret.

I just have to go shopping.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. roy_az
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 06:39:38

    This is just quite Amusing…Take it easy lah…In Cali, I think most of the people won’t bother how U look like…Maybe because U’re cute that’s why they stares & envy…hehe…;p
    Anyway, hopes to bump into U in class somedays…I always look around U knoe…hehehe…;p

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Feb 07, 2007 @ 16:20:28

      they weren’t staring at me… more like i see them staring at other objects of public lust :o) haha… it won’t be hard to pick me out from a class… just look for the guy who’s always going the opposite direction of the class. that’s me. no need to bump… :o) haha

      Reply

  2. icezworld
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 06:45:50

    Welcome. Nice description of Cali. Yes, everyone there dressed to kill but some really kills with just their sports bra on where they have probably a waist like spare tyre. Anyway, so long as you are decently dressed, nobody will give you that despising stare. You are right about the many buffed up guys in Cali, just use that to motivate yourself to work harder and ogle at the same time. Isn’t it good?
    Haha:)

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Feb 08, 2007 @ 05:12:07

      no wonder your LJ icon is an eye. looks like your irises are getting more worked out than your pecs. haha… yeah, seeing how hard others train do serve as motivation. just hope it’s motivating the right body parts. :o)

      Reply

      • icezworld
        Feb 08, 2007 @ 16:29:20

        Haha. Can lah. Everytime you get distracted just look at yourself in the mirrors and look at them again, then you will probably hit the weights harder. Haven’t been to Novena branch before though. 😛

  3. samandsam
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 06:59:26

    Overheard:
    Addidas: Impossible is nothing!
    Nikie: Just Do It.
    Puma: How Hard Can It Be?
    Darren: Ok, ok I will be a californator.

    Reply

  4. _scratchit_
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 08:00:00

    why didnt u consider planet fitness or fitness 1st?

    Reply

  5. fritzq
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 08:03:18

    wah you walk ah….. huhrur!
    I like Novena….. nice and not so many people….. 🙂

    Reply

  6. kykydiary
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 08:04:39

    Looks like i should switch too! haha

    Reply

  7. universe8within
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 09:05:15

    i go with my white singlet or army singlets.
    Some are really old, with worn out fabric starting to fray.
    Of course, some colour coordination helps.
    Black shorts tend to go with everything.
    😎

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Feb 08, 2007 @ 05:30:16

      well, the clothes wear you, not the other way around. fraying singlets on you is called the grunge look. on me, it would just be “call the security. there’s a beggar in the house.” haha…
      i’m stocking up on black :o)

      Reply

  8. gundamv
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 15:48:40

    goody the can finally check out this cutey in cali.. will u go to orchard or raffle br for combat ?

    Reply

  9. styloh
    Mar 07, 2007 @ 06:19:49

    Yup i do miss safra gym as well but I don’t regret joining Cali. When my membership expires this year, i will sign up at HK or Taiwan and use the membership in Singapore. Cheers! C ya ard!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

