An unknowing fox spirit

This entry is dedicated to the enemy I never knew I had, and to the possibly good acquaintances we can become.

The past comes back to haunt you… and I had a ‘haunting’ yesterday. My mobile phone announced I received a message. The SMS said, “If I help you to recall the past 14 years ago, you will have a shock of your life. We were once so near but yet so far… it’s an ugly past…”

I was breathing in salt-coated needles. NO… it can’t be the cleaner who hosed me down, totally naked, because I shat in my shorts due to diahorrea and all the toilets were locked! No, wait… it can’t, coz that’s when I was 9 years old. That’s more than 14 years ago… Or NO… is it the security guard who caught me shoplifting at Parkway Parade Isetan? Then again, that’s in my early teens, again more than 14 years ago, and I had paid for everything since. OH NO… was it the air stewardess who stopped the Cathay Pacific plane to let me get off because I was having a panic attack in sight of all the passengers? No, wait… I know the name of the sender, it can’t be a stewardess.

Thankfully I don’t have that many follies or embarrassing moments to count. Phew… Until I was reminded that I was once a fox spirit (狐狸精), unwittingly. Otherwise known as the third party, I was in the dark that someone I took an interest in was actually attached. But the other half smelt the rat (though I prefer to be a Chihuahua) and found out who I was. Naturally, I didn’t know who that person was because I didn’t know there was a plus one in the deal. Anyway, I was told by the horse’s mouth that I was the subject of resentment and outright spiteful acts. But the best part was, I didn’t feel I was experiencing any malaise and danced through my 20-something across rainbows on pony backs. Ignorance is bliss. That person didn’t exist for me, but I occupied that person.

I had plain forgotten that I had ever encountered the person who SMS-ed me, but we did cross path once… at Plaza Singapura. That incident, I didn’t forget. I was shopping there with a female friend of mine and saw another acquaintance, whom I went over to say hi. Out of nowhere, someone suddenly started to hurl verbal discords at me. I stood baffled. I remember thinking ‘was that a mentally oriented person? What a pity because that person was young and good-looking’, then I realized it wasn’t madness, it was maliciousness. I was still stunned but my friend went into an oratory assault with my public assassin who shouted repeatedly, ‘you can act very well huh! No wonder you’re a TCS actor!’

All those while, the friend who I said hi to stood there. And when the dispute escalated, that friend actually walked away without any attempt to calm the situation. That walk-away was my object of intended affection months back until I was forced to go cold-turkey. The chagrined one, as I found out, was the partner. But I have no image of the person who caused me grievance and the incident was long buried. It was dug back out for me, but I prefer to have forgotten. Forgotten memories are best recovered by making new ones.

Those were really the days. As I was talking to my now ex-enemy and new-found acquaintance, I had a sense of bewilderment. It was a sweet feeling though. And certain thoughts ran through my head… Back then, we would kill, create a big hoo-ha, scratch the eyes out of ‘mistresses’, but now, wives and mistresses live under one roof. Once when a relationship meant only one person to another… now, with the consent of the other, relationships are going three-way, or open for all. In these times, perhaps the fox spirit could finally rest in peace and become a bygone myth. Well, I hope my heart won’t trap me in these situations again and take me another 14 years to get acquainted with someone of a gem to call a friend.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. samandsam
    Aug 31, 2007 @ 04:57:47

    I was just thinking, LOL, that probably now
    – the only hosing you get would be a form of ‘water’ sport
    – the only thing you will steal is a youngster’s heart
    – the only panic attack is when you recognize 50% of the passengers on the plane to BKK as your ONSs.
    Heh. But this is truly a friend to treasure because he let go of the past instead of letting it fester and poison him. Many of us would find it hard to do because contrary to what many people claim, it is pleasurable to feel hate and misery.

    Reply

  2. samandsam
    Aug 31, 2007 @ 04:57:47

    I was just thinking, LOL, that probably now
    – the only hosing you get would be a form of ‘water’ sport
    – the only thing you will steal is a youngster’s heart
    – the only panic attack is when you recognize 50% of the passengers on the plane to BKK as your ONSs.
    Heh. But this is truly a friend to treasure because he let go of the past instead of letting it fester and poison him. Many of us would find it hard to do because contrary to what many people claim, it is pleasurable to feel hate and misery.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

