470KM later…

My legs. My legs! I can’t feel my legs! There is really no limit to the amount of pain I can go through. Because after a while, it just becomes a part of me, the body takes over and numbs the brain. But as soon as I stop focusing on the goal, the pain consumes me. As soon as I stopped doing the thing that brought me pain, I actually felt more pain.

Los Heroes

But it’s all for a good cause. Took part in the Fitness First Cycling Marathon last Saturday (27 Oct 07) to help raise funds for the Children Cancer Foundation. There were 6 teams altogether. Each team had 5 members and it was a relay on 3 stationary bikes for 7 hours from 10:00am to 5:30pm. My team cycled a total of about 470km and the total distance covered by all 6 teams was 3,500km. Guess my team didn’t contribute very much. But we were all shacked out at the end. I rode a total of 107km in about 4 hrs 20 mins. After that, I walked like a crab.

Choon Wee quipped during lunch, “It’s ok la, I think can complete the whole marathon easily. I thought it would be very shiong, but after I cycled just now, I feel it’s ok leh.” That was after he did 50km in slightly over 2 hours. Admirable. But delusional. For when he took on the second set, that confidence quickly melted. And when the marathon was extended by half an hour, he cringed like a desert prune. The first set was easy and I think it was best to go as far and as long as possible because when I was riding my first hour, it didn’t take too much effort. But after I stopped and went on the bike again after some rest, my legs weighed a ton. I felt a pinching pain at my hips and knees. At one point, my thighs started to cramp. Many times I wanted to stop, but I just kept going. Thinking about those children, some as young as 6 years old, battling a painful and expensive disease like cancer; they don’t have a choice to quit, so I must go on too.

That’s also the inspiration for the name of our team. We’re called Los Heroes (Los is Spanish for ‘The’) to honor these young heroes and their families who had to deal with cancer. I have close family members going through terminal illness so I can feel how difficult it is to wake up every day to find out that a part of your body is no longer functioning. And the pain of seeing a loved one suffer. They’re the silent heroes. We will all be heroes one day.

Los Heroes logos

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. czerin
    Oct 29, 2007 @ 08:35:12

    static bike?

    Reply

  2. czerin
    Oct 29, 2007 @ 08:35:12

    static bike?

    Reply

  3. into_the_wild
    Oct 29, 2007 @ 15:27:20

    nice!
    way to go dude!

    Reply

  4. into_the_wild
    Oct 29, 2007 @ 15:27:20

    nice!
    way to go dude!

    Reply

  5. johnnytan72
    Oct 30, 2007 @ 00:37:31

    Saw you at AMK Hub.

    Reply

  6. johnnytan72
    Oct 30, 2007 @ 00:37:31

    Saw you at AMK Hub.

    Reply

  7. comb_80
    Oct 30, 2007 @ 02:27:22

    you rocks !!

    Reply

  8. comb_80
    Oct 30, 2007 @ 02:27:22

    you rocks !!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

