KFC = Kan’t Find Chicken

I encountered a spectacular peculiarity in customer service yesterday. This new service philosophy is ‘never give the customer what he wants even though we have it’. I haven’t encountered service that ghastly for a long time because I’m really very easily pleased. But thanks to the KFC outlet at Bugis Village, I’m rekindled to stand for my right as a customer. They’d taught me how to become an irate and dissatisfied diner.

When you walk into KFC, what do you expect to find? Obviously, fried chicken. And since it’s KFC (Kentucky Fried Chicken) and not KFCDT (Kentucky Fried Chicken Drums and Thighs), I would expect that the fastfood giant serves all the common parts of a chicken – breast, ribs, thighs, drumstick and wings. Yet for a long time now, KFC Singapore seemed to be serving only drumstick and thigh meats. I have always preferred the taste of breast meat. When I eat those foiled-wrapped herbal chickens, I always eat the breast first; and when I market, it is breast meat I buy. And one of my biggest weaknesses in junk food craving is the hot and crispy KFC chicken breast.

But with only DTW (drums, thighs, wings) available no matter which KFC outlet I went to lately, I postponed my KFC fix for many months. Breasts and ribs are usually easily available throughout the day except for when it is almost closing time in the past. By about 9:30pm, usually there’re only drums and wings left. Now, it’s always DTW regardless of what time I decide to clog my arteries. Believe me, I’ve been to many KFCs to ask at various times of the day… always can’t find breasts.

So my craving has been cooking in a pressure-cooker until last night when Eugene suggested KFC for dinner after gym. My stomach leaped for joy. I even ended the workout session early so that I can sink my teeth into some spicy, juicy breasts.

The Bugis Village KFC was pretty crowded when we arrived at about 8:30pm. There were 5 orders ahead of me and I could see chicken pieces that looked like breasts or ribs. My tongue was tap dancing in my throat. So my turn came and I ordered a 2pc Chicken Meal for $6.40 (2 pieces of chicken, 1 regular Pepsi, 1 coleslaw, and 1 whipped potato). There was a promotion going on for a similar 2pc meal called The Real Deal Meal. It costs $5.00 and has the same items as above except that there’s no whipped potato.

Anyway, I went for the $6.40 one and requested for breast, ribs or thigh. The service staff, S, went to the warmer tray, searched a bit, and came back to say there’s only drumstick and thigh. I’m not surprised. But it was too late for me to go by then, I have to have KFC! So I compromised and requested for 2 pieces of thigh meat. Without a word, S turned and started assembling my order and I could see that he had placed a piece of thigh, and a drumstick into the paper tray.

“Hello, hello… hi… I want 2 pieces of thigh,” I said, smiling.

S came back to the order counter and said that the meal is 1 piece of each. “But I prefer to have 2 pieces of thigh, can you give it to me?”

“No, the meal comes with 1 piece chicken thigh and 1 piece drumstick,” S replied as a matter of fact.

“But I had ordered last time and they allow me to choose which part I want.”

“Last time is last time, now we only give 1 thigh and 1 drumstick.”

There was more than 6 pieces of thighs in the warmer. “But you still have thigh what. If you run out, I can understand, but there’re still so many pieces there,” I was getting a little exasperated. I couldn’t understand why they just can’t replace the other piece.

S pointed to the standee advertising The Real Deal Meal. “There you see, the promotion is for 1 piece drumstick and 1 piece thigh. You see the picture? This promotion is only for 1 piece drumstick and 1 piece thigh.”

“But I didn’t order the $5.00 Real Deal Meal. I want the 2pc Chicken Meal, the $6.40 one. And your other outlets had always given me 2 breasts or 1 breast and 1 rib. Now I just want 2 thighs since I don’t like drumstick,” I was trying to explain myself more clearly and trying to sound friendly still.

S was getting impatient. “Let me explain. For this meal, 1 big piece must go with 1 small piece. So the drumstick goes with the thigh. You see our chicken (points to the warmer), the drumsticks and thighs are equal. So 1 thigh must go with 1 drumstick.”

“Why can I not have 2 thighs? I’m NOT ordering your $5.00 meal and KFC had always allowed customers to choose the parts they want. How can you tell me that I cannot have 2 thighs just because you match it that way? It’s not like you’re out of thighs. And since I’m getting the $6.40 meal, then I’m not subjected to your promotion what…” S was trying to say something in between, but I carried on with my logic because I didn’t think he was getting it.

“Can you let me explain?” S said, sounding miffed. I was also heating up.

“Sure, go ahead and explain.”

“How can I explain when you keep talking? When I talk, you don’t talk,” S said.

Furnace! I took a deep breath… “Fine. Explain to me then.”

“1 big piece must go with 1 small piece. That’s what this promotion is for. 1 chicken thigh must go with 1 drumstick.”

“… … …” What the f*#k?!! He’s just repeating himself. He kept sticking to that story the whole time and I understood it already. The reason why I kept talking was because he wasn’t getting where I’m coming from.

“Never mind then. Cancel my order for the 2pc Chicken Meal. I’ll order them separate. I pc thigh, and another piece thigh, 2 coleslaws and a cheesy fries,” my tongue was already in my stomach, I’ve lost my desire and appetite. I didn’t want to argue with a mule nor let the other diners behind think I’m hogging.

“So you don’t want the meal?”

“No, I don’t. I want to order separately. Now can you give me 2 pieces of thighs? Thank you.”

I finally got 2 pieces of thigh meat. What would’ve originally cost me $9.60 (a 2pc Chicken Meal and a cheesy fries) ended up costing me $11.80 and without a drink (the 2pc meal includes a drink). It’s not for a few dollars that I’m haggling about. I just don’t understand why they allow us to pick the chicken pieces previously and now I have to follow the 1-thigh-1-drumstick rule. Where have the other parts of the chicken gone? Why is that I can have my needs served previously, and now, I have to pay money and yet serve the interest of the fastfood franchise?

Simon joined us for dinner and he ordered the $5.00 meal. He had also wanted to change to breast meat too because being the gym-conscious denizens that we are, breast meat is still the part to eat to feed ourselves protein while minimizing on chicken fat. But well, we’re having KFC. How much fat saving can we really do? But it’s been a matter of taste and preference of chicken-eating over the years. However, after Simon heard me explaining futilely to the staff to change my order, he decided to just settle for 1 piece thigh and 1 piece drumstick. He did ask his service staff (I think he a China Chinese, and mine’s a Malay server) for breast meat, but the staff told him he would have to wait 20 to 30 minutes for them to cook it. My server didn’t even mention that.

Later, the outlet manager came to us. He sounds Filipino. He explained that the chicken parts come in packets and there’re usually more drumsticks in the packets. When Simon asked for breast meat, they had to look packet by packet to see if there’s breast meat in it and then cook it for him. Are chickens having more than 2 legs now? Why the disparity in the ratio of thighs to, well, maybe not breast because there’s only one, but ribs? The ribs are not whole ribs but split into 2. So 2 thighs, 2 ribs… how come each pack has more thighs than ribs?

It is not the duty of the customer to empathize with your business strategy. It is how, through your trade, you understand what the customers want and you deliver. If more people want breasts (since they go out so quickly), then you have to find suppliers that can give you that. If you can’t, then let the customer decide if they still want to eat even if the choice is only drumsticks. Or convert the drumstick meat into the Popcorn Chicken or serve as patties for their burgers. The point is, find a solution and not pass the problem to the customers. And if you need to pass the problem, at least sound cordial and be nice about it. Is there any point of contention that the other service staffs (Simon’s server and outlet manager) are non-natives whereas my server was clearly Singaporean?

Anyhoo… KFC won’t close down because of 1 dissatisfied customer. Maybe now it’ll make it even easier for me to resist KFC and stick to my boiled chicken breast diet.

Oh, by the way, the standee advertising The Deal Meal said ‘Choice of chicken parts is subject to availability.’ It didn’t say 1 piece thigh and 1 piece drumstick… So if they have thighs, they should still give it to the customer… because they are available.

Availability

56 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. icezworld
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 15:06:29

    Yes. You should show it to the stupid service staff.
    Anyway, just saw u at Bugis gym today. 😛

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 18, 2008 @ 15:40:03

      haha… i’m not out to make his life difficult. but if he continues to have that kind of attitude, i worry for him that he can go very far in his future employments.
      oh ok… sorry i didn’t recognise u… oops…

      Reply

      • icezworld
        Mar 19, 2008 @ 09:50:46

        It’s ok. Somehow most people couldn’t recognise me. Haha 🙂
        And I always too shy to say hi. 😛

      • celebratelah
        Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:07:27

        heh heh… next time don’t shy… just say hi :o)

      • icezworld
        Mar 19, 2008 @ 13:31:42

        Ok, next time I will try to say,”Hi, this is icezworld from LJ.”
        🙂

      • celebratelah
        Mar 19, 2008 @ 19:28:42

        and u must complete the introduction with a never-seen-before ice dance! if that happens, i’ll claim recognition by doing the chicken little tap routine. how’s that? hahaha…
        do say hi. would be nice to connect :o) although my old brain will probably take some time to recognise ya… so apologies to my lack of recognition in advance :o) but i’ll remember the chicken dance! :o)

      • icezworld
        Mar 20, 2008 @ 03:35:26

        No problem. I will definitely try to say hi then. As for the dance……… :p

      • icezworld
        Mar 20, 2008 @ 03:35:26

        No problem. I will definitely try to say hi then. As for the dance……… :p

      • celebratelah
        Mar 19, 2008 @ 19:28:42

        and u must complete the introduction with a never-seen-before ice dance! if that happens, i’ll claim recognition by doing the chicken little tap routine. how’s that? hahaha…
        do say hi. would be nice to connect :o) although my old brain will probably take some time to recognise ya… so apologies to my lack of recognition in advance :o) but i’ll remember the chicken dance! :o)

      • icezworld
        Mar 19, 2008 @ 13:31:42

        Ok, next time I will try to say,”Hi, this is icezworld from LJ.”
        🙂

      • celebratelah
        Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:07:27

        heh heh… next time don’t shy… just say hi :o)

      • icezworld
        Mar 19, 2008 @ 09:50:46

        It’s ok. Somehow most people couldn’t recognise me. Haha 🙂
        And I always too shy to say hi. 😛

    • celebratelah
      Mar 18, 2008 @ 15:40:03

      haha… i’m not out to make his life difficult. but if he continues to have that kind of attitude, i worry for him that he can go very far in his future employments.
      oh ok… sorry i didn’t recognise u… oops…

      Reply

  2. icezworld
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 15:06:29

    Yes. You should show it to the stupid service staff.
    Anyway, just saw u at Bugis gym today. 😛

    Reply

  3. muddynights
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 15:55:38

    yeah. bugis branch is the worst, not that i visit a lot of KFC outlets but service there always sucks.
    like you, sometimes i crave for KFC chicken after gym, enough for me to queue up (always a long queue there, slow staff and all, 10 minute per order, i counted) and endure.
    and always, when its my turn to order, either they don’t have this, they don’t have that. i only order original recipe, and always, always they want me to wait for another 10 minutes. as if i have not been queing for 20 minutes already.
    *sigh* the things we endure for the things we pay for.

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:13:04

      haha… aww… we should franchise and start up our own kfc and have dancing girls and boys to entertain the customers while they wait! hahaha… kfc really have a way of inconviencing appetites lately. dunno what had changed in their management policy…
      the hassle is also good la… at least i won’t eat kfc as often as i want to now. :o)

      Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:13:04

      haha… aww… we should franchise and start up our own kfc and have dancing girls and boys to entertain the customers while they wait! hahaha… kfc really have a way of inconviencing appetites lately. dunno what had changed in their management policy…
      the hassle is also good la… at least i won’t eat kfc as often as i want to now. :o)

      Reply

  4. muddynights
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 15:55:38

    yeah. bugis branch is the worst, not that i visit a lot of KFC outlets but service there always sucks.
    like you, sometimes i crave for KFC chicken after gym, enough for me to queue up (always a long queue there, slow staff and all, 10 minute per order, i counted) and endure.
    and always, when its my turn to order, either they don’t have this, they don’t have that. i only order original recipe, and always, always they want me to wait for another 10 minutes. as if i have not been queing for 20 minutes already.
    *sigh* the things we endure for the things we pay for.

    Reply

  5. kerubin
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 15:57:31

    haha….they are quite particular…thank god…for the PS branch…when we ask for specific part, the server will reply ” i will try my best”, at least there is a more cs method to tell your customer.

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:15:39

      yeah… at least sound better. but i usually just ask upfront if there’s breats or ribs. if they don’t have, i would usually not place an order liao… there was once, me and my friend walked from taka kfc, to lido kfc to far east plaza kfc in search of breasts and ribs!

      Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:15:39

      yeah… at least sound better. but i usually just ask upfront if there’s breats or ribs. if they don’t have, i would usually not place an order liao… there was once, me and my friend walked from taka kfc, to lido kfc to far east plaza kfc in search of breasts and ribs!

      Reply

  6. kerubin
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 15:57:31

    haha….they are quite particular…thank god…for the PS branch…when we ask for specific part, the server will reply ” i will try my best”, at least there is a more cs method to tell your customer.

    Reply

  7. joejunior
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 15:58:32

    He said one big piece must go with one small piece..
    Then later he said “You see our chicken (points to the warmer), the drumsticks and thighs are equal. So 1 thigh must go with 1 drumstick.”
    But if the thigh and drumsticks are equal as he had said, he should be able to substitute the drumstick with another thigh.
    This thigh/drumstick/breast issue is also the reason why my friend wld only have KFC in Malaysia and not SG. Cos they just give what we ask for.

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:20:25

      exactly. i kept asking him to explain to me why 1 big piece must go with 1 small piece the whole time. but when i ordered 2 pieces separately, he gave me 2 thighs.
      if he took each as a separate order, in order not to upset his ‘equal balance’, and i asked for a thigh first, does that mean that the customer behind me who also orders a single piece must get drumstick? so even if he orders a single piece, he cannot have a choice!
      think i should reserve my kfc binges to m’sia too… heh heh… thanks for the tip!

      Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:20:25

      exactly. i kept asking him to explain to me why 1 big piece must go with 1 small piece the whole time. but when i ordered 2 pieces separately, he gave me 2 thighs.
      if he took each as a separate order, in order not to upset his ‘equal balance’, and i asked for a thigh first, does that mean that the customer behind me who also orders a single piece must get drumstick? so even if he orders a single piece, he cannot have a choice!
      think i should reserve my kfc binges to m’sia too… heh heh… thanks for the tip!

      Reply

  8. joejunior
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 15:58:32

    He said one big piece must go with one small piece..
    Then later he said “You see our chicken (points to the warmer), the drumsticks and thighs are equal. So 1 thigh must go with 1 drumstick.”
    But if the thigh and drumsticks are equal as he had said, he should be able to substitute the drumstick with another thigh.
    This thigh/drumstick/breast issue is also the reason why my friend wld only have KFC in Malaysia and not SG. Cos they just give what we ask for.

    Reply

  9. faithpig
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 16:23:27

    Goodness, if i were you, i would walk out immediately…what is so nice about kfc anyway…overrated..

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:22:32

      i had wanted to just walk out too… but i was so hungry after gym and queueing for so long liao. and it’s a case of diet restriction so when the object of sinful desire is so near, i totally gave in!

      Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:22:32

      i had wanted to just walk out too… but i was so hungry after gym and queueing for so long liao. and it’s a case of diet restriction so when the object of sinful desire is so near, i totally gave in!

      Reply

  10. faithpig
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 16:23:27

    Goodness, if i were you, i would walk out immediately…what is so nice about kfc anyway…overrated..

    Reply

  11. quanster90
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 17:55:03

    Goodness, you write good entries
    Can I add you as a friend on lj?

    Reply

  12. quanster90
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 17:55:03

    Goodness, you write good entries
    Can I add you as a friend on lj?

    Reply

  13. quanster90
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 18:39:07

    On a curious thought, why didn’t you bought like two meals, you probably can get 2 thighs still and costing you one more dollar than wat u paid and it comes along with 2 other chicken parts, 2 drinks and 1 more side
    Sigh..and I thought it is bad enough that their chicken shrink in size but the prices increases

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:29:55

      you’re a genius!! yah hor… why i didn’t think of that har? if i ordered 2 of the $5.00 set it’ll be $10.00 and i get 2 of each part. and if i add in the cheesy fries, the total bill will be $13.20… which is only $1.40 more from $11.80, but get double! but at that point, my aim was not spending a dime more at that outlet but just pay for what i want…
      but good point! i’ll keep that in mind to minimize my ‘losses’ next time. heh…
      and sure, would be great to be included in ur lj friend’s list :o) thanks for visiting my blog :o)

      Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:29:55

      you’re a genius!! yah hor… why i didn’t think of that har? if i ordered 2 of the $5.00 set it’ll be $10.00 and i get 2 of each part. and if i add in the cheesy fries, the total bill will be $13.20… which is only $1.40 more from $11.80, but get double! but at that point, my aim was not spending a dime more at that outlet but just pay for what i want…
      but good point! i’ll keep that in mind to minimize my ‘losses’ next time. heh…
      and sure, would be great to be included in ur lj friend’s list :o) thanks for visiting my blog :o)

      Reply

  14. quanster90
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 18:39:07

    On a curious thought, why didn’t you bought like two meals, you probably can get 2 thighs still and costing you one more dollar than wat u paid and it comes along with 2 other chicken parts, 2 drinks and 1 more side
    Sigh..and I thought it is bad enough that their chicken shrink in size but the prices increases

    Reply

  15. roy_az
    Mar 19, 2008 @ 01:03:52

    Aiyo…They sooo not flexible ones…and I realised something too…their chickens are getting smaller lei…;(

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:37:27

      yeah… paltry chicken served by sulky staff.
      finger lickin’ good? more like finger needin lube… so that i can stick it up their sorry as*es to buck up!

      Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:37:27

      yeah… paltry chicken served by sulky staff.
      finger lickin’ good? more like finger needin lube… so that i can stick it up their sorry as*es to buck up!

      Reply

  16. roy_az
    Mar 19, 2008 @ 01:03:52

    Aiyo…They sooo not flexible ones…and I realised something too…their chickens are getting smaller lei…;(

    Reply

  17. shayan
    Mar 19, 2008 @ 05:00:45

    babe, next time why don’t you fry the chicken? =)
    i’ll buy the chicken, bread crumbs and whatever else you need and we’ll pig out on what Kan’t Find Chicken can’t give us – tender, succulent, juicy fried chicken breasts. =P~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:47:46

      heh heh… i’d rather be skewering a hunk of meat and roasting it over parker and morgan ;o)
      i don’t do chicken well… especially young, spring chickens. haha… maybe one day i’ll learn.

      Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:47:46

      heh heh… i’d rather be skewering a hunk of meat and roasting it over parker and morgan ;o)
      i don’t do chicken well… especially young, spring chickens. haha… maybe one day i’ll learn.

      Reply

  18. shayan
    Mar 19, 2008 @ 05:00:45

    babe, next time why don’t you fry the chicken? =)
    i’ll buy the chicken, bread crumbs and whatever else you need and we’ll pig out on what Kan’t Find Chicken can’t give us – tender, succulent, juicy fried chicken breasts. =P~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Reply

  19. heliosrealm
    Mar 19, 2008 @ 15:54:32

    I admit you have a great tolerance. If i am in your shoe, I will just walk away ..
    heh, so KFC is your comfort food ?

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 19, 2008 @ 19:24:57

      well, we never know where the other person is coming from or driving at… i could’ve misunderstood him, as a personality, to my own displeasure. but really, he’s just doing his job. i wanted to turn and go, but i thot that probably he’s just carrying out orders from up above. and i was really hungry… and yes, kfc cripsy and spicy chicken breast is my crave. not yet a comfort food… and i hope i don’t ever need comfort from dead chickens!! hahaha… :o)

      Reply

    • celebratelah
      Mar 19, 2008 @ 19:24:57

      well, we never know where the other person is coming from or driving at… i could’ve misunderstood him, as a personality, to my own displeasure. but really, he’s just doing his job. i wanted to turn and go, but i thot that probably he’s just carrying out orders from up above. and i was really hungry… and yes, kfc cripsy and spicy chicken breast is my crave. not yet a comfort food… and i hope i don’t ever need comfort from dead chickens!! hahaha… :o)

      Reply

  20. heliosrealm
    Mar 19, 2008 @ 15:54:32

    I admit you have a great tolerance. If i am in your shoe, I will just walk away ..
    heh, so KFC is your comfort food ?

    Reply

  21. phanatiq
    Apr 04, 2008 @ 16:48:27

    don eat KFC lor. Afterall the chix are from v cruel chicken farms.

    Reply

    • phanatiq
      Apr 04, 2008 @ 17:09:52

      bad service
      i’m suddenly reminded of a an incident in Eslite Bookstore in Taipei Ximending. I bot a bunch of books more than SGD$50 bucks and i asked for two paper bags. People who know me know that i’m all for saving the Earth but these books are particularly heavy and i really down want to have to walk back holding them under my arm should the paper bag tear.
      But no!! It’s their store policy! So i asked for the manager and got the same reply! I said my books are heavy. Furthermore if I were to make two seperate payments wouldn’t they have to give me two bags too?
      I know the company is very into reducing paper wastage but I believe my request in this case was very reasonable. Still I was rejected and I vowed to write a letter of complain to the company haha… which i forgot.. 😛

      Reply

    • phanatiq
      Apr 04, 2008 @ 17:09:52

      bad service
      i’m suddenly reminded of a an incident in Eslite Bookstore in Taipei Ximending. I bot a bunch of books more than SGD$50 bucks and i asked for two paper bags. People who know me know that i’m all for saving the Earth but these books are particularly heavy and i really down want to have to walk back holding them under my arm should the paper bag tear.
      But no!! It’s their store policy! So i asked for the manager and got the same reply! I said my books are heavy. Furthermore if I were to make two seperate payments wouldn’t they have to give me two bags too?
      I know the company is very into reducing paper wastage but I believe my request in this case was very reasonable. Still I was rejected and I vowed to write a letter of complain to the company haha… which i forgot.. 😛

      Reply

  22. phanatiq
    Apr 04, 2008 @ 16:48:27

    don eat KFC lor. Afterall the chix are from v cruel chicken farms.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

