Island Reef Job reject

I thought the marketing campaign by Tourism Queensland was ingenious… spending just AUS$150,000 to get the whole world talking.

The campaign, called ‘The Best Job in the World’, invited people from all over the globe to apply as an island reef caretaker at the Great Barrier Reef. What the caretaker needs to do is go swimming with the fish, bask in the sun, soak up the Queensland lifestyle and blog about those experiences. The job is for 6-months and it pays AUS$150,000.

I took the bait and submitted the required video application. My application was rejected. Well, it didn’t matter because I wanted to do something and I did it. That was the first time I’ve ever created a home video and I had loads of fun doing it!

What I hoped the organisers would see about me through the video…
 
1) I am a risk-taker. My video is silent because I thought it would be a ‘surprise’ from the thousands of videos that would load the reviewers’ ears with self-yak.

2) I am versatile. I would be comfortable in whatever role they want me to play (no sexual connotations please!! Ha ha…).

3) I can laugh at myself. And now you can laugh at me too by seeing how silly I am acting in the video! Heh heh.

But all of that didn’t matter. The campaign attracted more than 34,000 entries worldwide and after having seen some of the 50 short-listed videos, even I would reject my entry!

Nevertheless, here’s just to commemorate the fun I had with this little project of life. 😮

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. t_yervor
    Mar 10, 2009 @ 06:53:42

    well done.
    can see the effort and at least u tried. =)
    anyway, where can i see the top 50 videos?

    Reply

  2. t_yervor
    Mar 10, 2009 @ 06:53:42

    well done.
    can see the effort and at least u tried. =)
    anyway, where can i see the top 50 videos?

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 15:57:00

    Bro,
    Taiwanise gal in the 1st run of island reef job loh.
    km

    Reply

  4. Anonymous
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 15:57:00

    Bro,
    Taiwanise gal in the 1st run of island reef job loh.
    km

    Reply

Leave a Reply

