Let’s Go Fishing!

FishingCrabs!

So here I am, seated in front of my laptop, trying to write a screenplay but ended up writing this blog instead. Starting out with something, and ending up with something else. I ordered waffles, but got pancakes. Maybe it is the year-end effect… a time when the aura for self-reflection of another 365 days gone by hangs thick.

This script I’m starting is a resume of sorts to apply for a year-long screen-writing programme jointly organized by the Media Authority of Singapore (MDA) and a few other Brit-based honchos on the subject. Called The First Draft, it is “Singapore’s first dedicated one-year professional screenplay development programme for screenwriters”. They are selecting a group of 12 budding local screenwriters to groom into hopefully not Jack Neo. To apply, I have to submit a sample script and dialogues by 11 Jan 2010. The story idea must be something that can be produced with a S$250,000 budget.

Suddenly, ‘budding’ reeks of free labour. With a budget of S$250K, does the screenwriter seriously expect to be paid? Well, maybe ten dollars (which is the amount each applicant must pay with his / her submission). So you spend a year’s worth of time and sweat to work on a script and if yours is the chosen one to be ‘splurged’ on, you shouldn’t ask for payment but be exceedingly glad that they are producing your screenplay! Is that it?

But I’m still going to try. Even if I have to folk out over S$2,000 in fees in the event I’m one of the 12.

I have an idea for a horror movie, but I’ve never written a feature-length screenplay. But if never getting any formal training in photography can bag me second prize in a small-scale photo contest, I’ve learnt never to underestimate the power of trying.

And hoping.

And praying.

And positive thinking.

And my penis being larger.

Oh wait… IT IS! (Note : penis size here is used as an allegory for the male ego.)

Fish boneHa ha… I’m not even selected and I’m prostituting my privates for comedic effect. Do I make my point to be a ball-sy screenwriter or what!? No, wait, this won’t go down well with MDA. With this blog post, I could be jeopardising my chances if they ever do a search on Facebook and end up here. But I guess if I make the cut, this would be why I made it.

I think. I suppose. I hope. I pray. I stay positive. I…

Regardless if my intentions are understood or misconstrued, I believe in casting a line. No one goes fishing with a pail full of fish. If one does so, he’ll end up admiring his previous catch, be satisfied and become too complacent to cast a line again. Either that, or the fish serves as bait for a bigger catch. But realistically, how many fishes are there in the coastal area of Singapore that are big enough to eat another fish as bait? Well, it is possible.

But one thing I do see fishermen catching with a bucket load of fish is crabs. That ain’t too bad right? And one kilo of crabs is worth more than a kilo of most fish. But have you seen the crabs caught off our coastal waters? I thought they were pubic lice.

So I prefer to empty my 2009 bucket. I may have caught some awards, netted a short-lived relationship, been to two new places, took formal lessons on photography, became a full fledge volunteer and took part in a travel contest…

It is time to throw them all out and plan to catch things I’ve not planned to catch. Time is really like a flowing river. We won’t touch the same water twice because the flow that has passed will never pass again.

Here’s wishing all a pail-full in 2010! May the catch be plentiful and whatever that was once beautiful, may be a carcass left out to dry and turn into yet another treasure most exquisite and wonderful!

10 days to submission… Will I make it?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 2710eirsue
    Dec 31, 2009 @ 15:22:54

    So beautiful. Happy 2010, Darren.
    All the best for the scrip writing! 🙂 Looking forward to hear more about you! Cheers.

    Reply

  2. 2710eirsue
    Dec 31, 2009 @ 15:22:54

    So beautiful. Happy 2010, Darren.
    All the best for the scrip writing! 🙂 Looking forward to hear more about you! Cheers.

    Reply

  3. gentlegiantt
    Jan 01, 2010 @ 06:33:25

    have a good year ahead!
    let’s go triggering HAPPIER in 2010!!

    Reply

  4. gentlegiantt
    Jan 01, 2010 @ 06:33:25

    have a good year ahead!
    let’s go triggering HAPPIER in 2010!!

    Reply

  5. yutaka2k
    Jan 10, 2010 @ 14:16:59

    Hahha..
    That certain connotation to certain topic… is that a sign that you are deprived of that certain SomEthingX?

    Reply

  6. yutaka2k
    Jan 10, 2010 @ 14:16:59

    Hahha..
    That certain connotation to certain topic… is that a sign that you are deprived of that certain SomEthingX?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

