Air is Not Free

Health TollToday is Wednesday. A very, very wet day.

Woke up this morning and couldn’t see the sky… the heavy downpour washed out every colour. Haven’t seen rain like today’s for a very long time. Felt like heaven was trying to flush earth away.

Perhaps due to the cold and wet weather in the past few days, my asthma began acting up. I wasn’t totally out of breath, but constantly felt I couldn’t draw in enough air. So today, I decided not to put up with it any longer and went to the docs for an inhaler.

I thought an inhaler was all I’m getting but woah… look at the whole lot of medicine I was given! If I’m not suffocated by asthma, then I’ll be asphyxiated from chugging those tablets. I wasn’t expecting it to be serious… just a little breathlessness and the feeling of a thin mucus film over the throat only. Hey doc, are you overreacting or not?

Apparently, my throat had gotten a little infected so I was given antibiotics for that; was also prescribed Piriton to numb allergies, 2 oral medications for asthma, a cough syrup and the purple puffer, Seretide. And guess what accompanied the arsenal of medication? Two days’ MC! All complaints of overreaction ended there.

But I really dislike putting synthetic drugs in my body. So like the countless unopened blisters of medicine in my drawer, this will be another batch that’ll live to their expiry dates. Except for the Seretide. That one I’ll use although I’d read some reports that it could actually worsen the severity of an asthma attack in the long-term.

I’m unsure about the accuracy or validity of those researches but since Seretide is very expensive (around S$60), I better not waste it. Thankfully I’m under group medical insurance; else, I can’t imagine the size of the bill. But I still had to pay S$5.00 since our coverage is under the co-pay scheme. Air is not free.

Well, the bad-ass weather may have caused my wheezing, but it definitely caused a major flooding down at Orchard Road. Took a photo at 10:25am and the visibility was so bad because of the heavy rainfall. When the storm calmed to a drizzle at about 1:00pm, the view from my room re-appeared.

Beyond cats & dogs

The skyline of Orchard Road can be seen in the misty background, but look what’s happening on its ground level! The flood was knee-deep and many of the underground shops were submerged. My mum told me she saw McDonald’s buns floating all around.

Although it subsided within an hour, this was the worst flooding of the prime downtown area in 26 years. Looks like I’m not the only one with a mucus-filled lung today.

Orchard Road or canal?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 19:36:41

    You really have to take care. I also got asthma. Penang also rain quite alot recently, I am also worry about myself./Lonely Teacher

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Jun 19, 2010 @ 04:16:32

      hey lonely teacher… thanks for the concern!
      u take care too and keep the chest warm during this unpredictably cold season. perhaps some hot and spicy penang laksa can heat up those lungs in the wet weather? heh… :o)

      Reply

    • celebratelah
      Jun 19, 2010 @ 04:16:32

      hey lonely teacher… thanks for the concern!
      u take care too and keep the chest warm during this unpredictably cold season. perhaps some hot and spicy penang laksa can heat up those lungs in the wet weather? heh… :o)

      Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 19:36:41

    You really have to take care. I also got asthma. Penang also rain quite alot recently, I am also worry about myself./Lonely Teacher

    Reply

Leave a Reply

