From Feather to Leather

Numbers can lie

Yesterday was the third time this week that someone said I shrunk. The people in white coats said that as we age, we lose bone mass and muscles and our bodies shrink. Is it happening to me already?!

Well, to begin with, I’ve never been big. Photos made me look taller and bigger than I really am so when some online friends see me in real life, they’re surprised to find Tom Thumb rather than Goliath.

Since young, I’ve always been skinny and scrawny. I can gorge like a pig, yet look like a bamboo, and weigh like a feather. But oh how times have changed! Now I peck like a bird, look like Shrek, and weigh like leather! Perhaps it is time to accept that I’m a luggage bag, and not a wallet anymore. The consolation is that the luggage can hold more experiences inside.

When I tell friends I used to be Kate Moss instead of the Kate Winslet now, they never believed me. Here’s proof…

Twice the age, twice the size.

Being a paper kite was no fun when I was growing up. I wanted to be muscular. Not quite Schwarzenegger, but at least those cover dudes of fitness magazines (without the digital touch-ups!).

I tried exercising but no mountains came out of my molehills. I tried eating 3 bowls of rice, yet I’m no heavier than a lice. Then came army. Still skinny. Then I went into polytechnic and started to gym seriously. I was at the gym almost every day and also began taking supplements.

Creatine, whey protein, mass gainers, amino acids in capsule form, amino acids in liquid form… the whole gamut. But no one told me that to gain weight, all I had to do was wait! Middle age is the best brand of weight gainer.

I went from being 48kgs in my teens, to 68kgs now. At a height of 1.71m, these stats seem proportionate. But the problem is, the weight no longer stays at other parts of the body and gathers at one place. I think there is something wrong with gravity. Shouldn’t the weight be pulled to the lower body? How come I’m still having chicken legs and a growing belly?

No weigh out

Parts are getting smaller where they should be big, and places where they’re supposed to be small are ballooning. I guess this is my welcome party to mid-life. With age, the dilemma and challenge is pumping up the rest of the body without inflating the waist; but the difficulty of preventing the ‘V’ from retracting in one alphabet space to ‘U’ takes a much longer mile on the treadmill at 36.

But, I’m not going down without a fight! Even if it is not to regain the former glory or better, at least I get back on track to feel healthier and collect back the tolls of drinking, partying and smoking. If I had the determination before to make the change, I can find back that commitment to make a comeback despite of age.

To achieve my goal, I must up my gym time, do more cardio exercise, cut out binge-drinking, and choose fit foods over fat ones! I must put a workout schedule in place, be disciplined and stick to it; and record everything I ate and the exercises I did as motivation!

It has been found that when people kept a daily journal of what they ate and the exercises they did, they’re more likely to stick to a diet and workout plan.

Today is 1 Jul 2010. I give myself 3 months, till 30 Sep 2010 to concentrate on renovating my exterior. Will I succeed?

For today’s record, I did a spinning class in the afternoon and trained my back at night. For breakfast, I had oatmeal with raisins and soya milk. Lunch was tofu vegetable soup and porridge for dinner.

Now, I’m writing this blog and into my third can of Tiger Classic beer. I’m also munching on NTUC brand fish crackers… Hmm… so much for determination!

62 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 17:27:58

    Wow !!
    Ultimate hotness. You put on extremely well, for me, I need to put off HARD !

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Jul 02, 2010 @ 01:52:47

      Re: Wow !!
      heh heh… photo illusion! and the so-called ‘hot’ pics were at least 2 years old.
      now, it’s a wreck! i need to put off HARD too! let’s work at it! :o)

      Reply

    • celebratelah
      Jul 02, 2010 @ 01:52:47

      Re: Wow !!
      heh heh… photo illusion! and the so-called ‘hot’ pics were at least 2 years old.
      now, it’s a wreck! i need to put off HARD too! let’s work at it! :o)

      Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 17:27:58

    Wow !!
    Ultimate hotness. You put on extremely well, for me, I need to put off HARD !

    Reply

  3. jeromz
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 00:10:02

    huh omg! ur so successful!..
    I think i have to give myself a target too! .. i have to cut binge eating =/ .. i need to shape up and loose weight.
    just munched a whole paket of tim tams last night how sinful it is!.

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Jul 02, 2010 @ 01:55:30

      the lighting and camera angle very successful only. lol… photo illusion mah :o) yeah, tell me about binging on junk food!
      i can’t get enough of potato chips and fish crackers. sigh… shall cut back and eliminate in this 3 months. let’s set these 3 months as a target to shape up! :o)

      Reply

      • jeromz
        Jul 02, 2010 @ 05:13:55

        Haha c’mon, you still look great. Dun say about the lighting, the subject must be good too.
        3 months is not easy. I have to curb that too!! Have to loose the flabs n gain muscle…

      • celebratelah
        Jul 02, 2010 @ 09:28:27

        u r very kind. heh heh… i guess when we begin with anything, it won’t be easy. but as we practise daily and grow into it, it’ll get easier over time ba :o)
        may we achieve our goals! :o)

      • jeromz
        Jul 03, 2010 @ 12:36:11

        yeah yeah~~~~
        i hope to hear good news from you~ i’l lwork hard too.. i try~!! 🙂 stay positive!

      • jeromz
        Jul 03, 2010 @ 12:36:11

        yeah yeah~~~~
        i hope to hear good news from you~ i’l lwork hard too.. i try~!! 🙂 stay positive!

      • jeromz
        Jul 05, 2010 @ 05:43:17

        🙂

      • celebratelah
        Jul 05, 2010 @ 16:03:11

        smile means u kept to ur routine so far? heh heh… ganbate!! :o)

      • jeromz
        Jul 05, 2010 @ 16:13:07

        well trying to..
        smile is because happy and be supportive to each other 🙂 ..

      • celebratelah
        Jul 06, 2010 @ 01:42:05

        wahaha… thanks :o) yeah, egging each other on sure helps! almost a week liao, hope u’re starting to feel some difference :o)

      • jeromz
        Jul 06, 2010 @ 01:44:25

        so fast meh!!
        i wish lor..

      • celebratelah
        Jul 06, 2010 @ 07:37:49

        heh heh… i lost 1kg liao :o)

      • jeromz
        Jul 06, 2010 @ 11:36:30

        so fast meh? .. its not that accurate if u weigh in a week.. have to weight until one month to confirm that weight loss wor~~ 😛

      • celebratelah
        Jul 06, 2010 @ 12:22:13

        yeah i’m wary of early successes. but i’ve also been weighing myself constantly. the past week i’ve been very strict with my diet (low carbs) and gym routine (about twice a day) and i weighed not on an empty stomach.
        so from my past experiences in weighing myself, usually the loss or gain is accurate even if it is just the first week. by the end of one month, could lose more liao, but i hope to lose another 2kgs then maintain the weight and increase the muscle mass. if only the body works like a switch! heh heh…

      • jeromz
        Jul 06, 2010 @ 12:30:41

        EEEE. nice lor..
        so strict with ur diet ah…
        i think my diet is not strict…. coz ive been going down to sydney every weekends.. aiks.. but i gym every day during week days…

      • celebratelah
        Jul 06, 2010 @ 16:31:57

        well, want results fast must really go at it lor. determination mah… :o) anyway, keep it up and when the results start coming, it’ll get addictive and easier :o)

      • jeromz
        Jul 06, 2010 @ 22:49:58

        shud’ve train and stay with u easier to be determined! 😛

      • jeromz
        Jul 06, 2010 @ 22:49:58

        shud’ve train and stay with u easier to be determined! 😛

      • celebratelah
        Jul 06, 2010 @ 16:31:57

        well, want results fast must really go at it lor. determination mah… :o) anyway, keep it up and when the results start coming, it’ll get addictive and easier :o)

      • jeromz
        Jul 06, 2010 @ 12:30:41

        EEEE. nice lor..
        so strict with ur diet ah…
        i think my diet is not strict…. coz ive been going down to sydney every weekends.. aiks.. but i gym every day during week days…

      • celebratelah
        Jul 06, 2010 @ 12:22:13

        yeah i’m wary of early successes. but i’ve also been weighing myself constantly. the past week i’ve been very strict with my diet (low carbs) and gym routine (about twice a day) and i weighed not on an empty stomach.
        so from my past experiences in weighing myself, usually the loss or gain is accurate even if it is just the first week. by the end of one month, could lose more liao, but i hope to lose another 2kgs then maintain the weight and increase the muscle mass. if only the body works like a switch! heh heh…

      • jeromz
        Jul 06, 2010 @ 11:36:30

        so fast meh? .. its not that accurate if u weigh in a week.. have to weight until one month to confirm that weight loss wor~~ 😛

      • celebratelah
        Jul 06, 2010 @ 07:37:49

        heh heh… i lost 1kg liao :o)

      • jeromz
        Jul 06, 2010 @ 01:44:25

        so fast meh!!
        i wish lor..

      • celebratelah
        Jul 06, 2010 @ 01:42:05

        wahaha… thanks :o) yeah, egging each other on sure helps! almost a week liao, hope u’re starting to feel some difference :o)

      • jeromz
        Jul 05, 2010 @ 16:13:07

        well trying to..
        smile is because happy and be supportive to each other 🙂 ..

      • celebratelah
        Jul 05, 2010 @ 16:03:11

        smile means u kept to ur routine so far? heh heh… ganbate!! :o)

      • jeromz
        Jul 05, 2010 @ 05:43:17

        🙂

      • celebratelah
        Jul 02, 2010 @ 09:28:27

        u r very kind. heh heh… i guess when we begin with anything, it won’t be easy. but as we practise daily and grow into it, it’ll get easier over time ba :o)
        may we achieve our goals! :o)

      • jeromz
        Jul 02, 2010 @ 05:13:55

        Haha c’mon, you still look great. Dun say about the lighting, the subject must be good too.
        3 months is not easy. I have to curb that too!! Have to loose the flabs n gain muscle…

    • celebratelah
      Jul 02, 2010 @ 01:55:30

      the lighting and camera angle very successful only. lol… photo illusion mah :o) yeah, tell me about binging on junk food!
      i can’t get enough of potato chips and fish crackers. sigh… shall cut back and eliminate in this 3 months. let’s set these 3 months as a target to shape up! :o)

      Reply

  4. jeromz
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 00:10:02

    huh omg! ur so successful!..
    I think i have to give myself a target too! .. i have to cut binge eating =/ .. i need to shape up and loose weight.
    just munched a whole paket of tim tams last night how sinful it is!.

    Reply

  5. papababa
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 02:15:32

    so inspired by the post until….the last sentence…haha… jia you!!!

    Reply

  6. papababa
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 02:15:32

    so inspired by the post until….the last sentence…haha… jia you!!!

    Reply

  7. mangoboi
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 02:18:53

    LOL, thr transformation is so huge! haha, but I think I like 2010. LOL~

    Reply

  8. mangoboi
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 02:18:53

    LOL, thr transformation is so huge! haha, but I think I like 2010. LOL~

    Reply

  9. g_pax
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 03:12:26

    you are such a humble chap Darren…. great work!

    Reply

  10. g_pax
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 03:12:26

    you are such a humble chap Darren…. great work!

    Reply

  11. iatrogen1c
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 06:04:28

    lol kate moss

    Reply

  12. iatrogen1c
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 06:04:28

    lol kate moss

    Reply

  13. joejunior
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 06:16:11

    i dont mind oatmeal but it gets horrible having it for breakfast everyday, even if its done differently.
    sometimes its so much easier to just eat whatever everyone else in office is having (pick of noodles/mee/sides)
    of cos then i end up looking overweight like everyone else in the office

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Jul 02, 2010 @ 09:41:34

      yeah… i get wat u mean! often, i forgo my oatmeal breakfast and go ta-pow fried bee hoon with fried luncheon meat and fried egg.
      but well, now i’m trying to reach a certain goal so some sacrifices have to be made lor. have to bear with the ‘healthier choice’. hopefully it works though! haha…

      Reply

    • celebratelah
      Jul 02, 2010 @ 09:41:34

      yeah… i get wat u mean! often, i forgo my oatmeal breakfast and go ta-pow fried bee hoon with fried luncheon meat and fried egg.
      but well, now i’m trying to reach a certain goal so some sacrifices have to be made lor. have to bear with the ‘healthier choice’. hopefully it works though! haha…

      Reply

  14. joejunior
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 06:16:11

    i dont mind oatmeal but it gets horrible having it for breakfast everyday, even if its done differently.
    sometimes its so much easier to just eat whatever everyone else in office is having (pick of noodles/mee/sides)
    of cos then i end up looking overweight like everyone else in the office

    Reply

  15. gundamv
    Jul 03, 2010 @ 00:33:28

    hey i think you look good and dun need to lose any weight. I guess one of the things about hitting 30s is that the weight tends to come off slower. Having been overweight most of my life, I realized the faster way to keep weights off is to have yr last meal before 7pm. Hope u reach yr ideal goal soon, cheers

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Jul 04, 2010 @ 13:31:03

      heh heh… thanks for the consolation :o) the photos were old. now i do need to work at losing the gut and having the discipline to curb my greedy mouth! :o) will definitely try to follow ur advice and not eat too late :o)

      Reply

    • celebratelah
      Jul 04, 2010 @ 13:31:03

      heh heh… thanks for the consolation :o) the photos were old. now i do need to work at losing the gut and having the discipline to curb my greedy mouth! :o) will definitely try to follow ur advice and not eat too late :o)

      Reply

  16. gundamv
    Jul 03, 2010 @ 00:33:28

    hey i think you look good and dun need to lose any weight. I guess one of the things about hitting 30s is that the weight tends to come off slower. Having been overweight most of my life, I realized the faster way to keep weights off is to have yr last meal before 7pm. Hope u reach yr ideal goal soon, cheers

    Reply

Leave a Reply

