Thoughts Because of the Blog Awards

In less than 15 hours, the Singapore Blog Awards 2010 ceremony will be on! I’ve been thinking about what to wear for the whole week because sad to say, I don’t have an imaginative wardrobe. The theme is ‘Oscar glamourous’ and ‘Paparazzi-worthy’. That means it is either sharp suits or drag as Lady Gaga. I don’t have the moolah or the bola to do either.

Oscar glam?And adding weight to a drowning man, I saw some of what the bloggers are going in. The designer-sponsored clothes, the who’s who of make-up, the famous stylists… guess I’ll be paparazzi-worthy after all since I’ll be the only one in rags. Maybe I’ll inspire the next fashion trend – Darrags (Darren’s rags)!

But I really look forward to the event. I want to meet all the bloggers running for the awards to get tips on how to make my blog more attractive and to thank them for the inspiration some of their blogs have given me. I’ve always been writing my blog for an audience of one… me. It was a place for me to insure against forgetting some of the major moods and events in my life and a place of reference for some facts I want to remember.

Through the many blogs I’ve come across because of the awards, I realized it is okay to say what I really feel. In the capacity of a personal blog, this is an unsafe place to be who we are but we can’t be somebody else if we expect to be heard.

I’ve also come to observe that my blog is somewhat bi-polar. One post could be all fun and humour and the next is all emo and soul-searching. Like now. But I guess, this is my style. And I have to learn to grow comfortable with it. If I’ve learnt well from the blogs I’ve read, this is who I am. This is a window for what I’ve gone through and what I’m experiencing to soar.

Paparazzi worthy?It is beyond my wildest imagination that Celebrate Life! could make it as a Top 10 finalist and I’m really thankful for each and every vote that placed it in the top 3 voted blogs for the Best Lifestyle Blog category. I took part just for fun but my eyes are really opened to the possibilities that blogging presents.

The past couple of weeks had seen an unusually high number of posts from me. Many were postings I wanted to put up but couldn’t make the time previously, but as a result of running for the awards, I took extra efforts to put them up. Some of the blogs were completed at 4 or 5 am in the morning and I’m a zombie at work the next day. But it showed me how much I can actually push myself and I’m very glad that my backlog of posts has been cleared!

I hope that this blog has been more than just a guy ranting about his life and provided some information that you could use. Thank you all so very much for reading and for the comments and mails you’ve sent me. They are the fuel that keeps me going.

Even if I do not win at the awards, I’ve already gained many invaluable lessons through this journey and made some new friends along the way. Thank you for walking with me.

And later, I will be walking around the awards venue, Movida at St James Powerstation, in a suede jacket bought in Singapore (S$100), blue jeans bought in Bangkok (S$25), white singlet with silvery leopard preens from Thailand (S$6.00), brown shades from Malaysia (S$6.50), khaki duckbill cap from Hong Kong (S$7.00), and an assortment of chains to try and look cool.

Will I be fashion Frankenstein or will I successfully mimic budget couture debonair… watch this space for the outcome… :o)

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 16:47:00

    Congrats
    恭喜恭喜,获奖了!: )

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 16:47:00

    Congrats
    恭喜恭喜,获奖了!: )

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 03:10:54

    Congratz!
    Hi Darren! Congratz!
    What a coincident.. I’m Linda’s friend and have seen many of the photos from your photo outing from Linda’s Facebook! Then I saw you and SiowHar yesterday and Movida!
    Anyway, enjoy your HK trip!
    cheers,
    Eunice
    http://travelerfolio.com

    Reply

    • celebratelah
      Jul 13, 2010 @ 07:11:30

      Re: Congratz!
      hey eunice… thanks for dropping me a congratulatory comment :o) aiyah, we missed each other at movida! would be great to ‘gossip’ about linda. haha… joking.
      am looking forward to the hkg trip and reading ur blog for info. ur blog very nice! must teach me how to make mine look so cool like yours too one day :o)

      Reply

    • celebratelah
      Jul 13, 2010 @ 07:11:30

      Re: Congratz!
      hey eunice… thanks for dropping me a congratulatory comment :o) aiyah, we missed each other at movida! would be great to ‘gossip’ about linda. haha… joking.
      am looking forward to the hkg trip and reading ur blog for info. ur blog very nice! must teach me how to make mine look so cool like yours too one day :o)

      Reply

  4. Anonymous
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 03:10:54

    Congratz!
    Hi Darren! Congratz!
    What a coincident.. I’m Linda’s friend and have seen many of the photos from your photo outing from Linda’s Facebook! Then I saw you and SiowHar yesterday and Movida!
    Anyway, enjoy your HK trip!
    cheers,
    Eunice
    http://travelerfolio.com

    Reply

  5. Anonymous
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 04:20:25

    http://www.wretch.cc/blog/muiee
    Congratulation!!!
    Din have chance personally said to you on the day ^^

    Reply

  6. Anonymous
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 04:20:25

    http://www.wretch.cc/blog/muiee
    Congratulation!!!
    Din have chance personally said to you on the day ^^

    Reply

  7. joejunior
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 04:20:20

    i dont know what’s the outcome of the award ceremony, but i always enjoy reading your posts regardless. 🙂

    Reply

  8. joejunior
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 04:20:20

    i dont know what’s the outcome of the award ceremony, but i always enjoy reading your posts regardless. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

