Code Red at Coke’s 125th Anniversary

“All I want is an ice cold Coke.” That’s what I would always say when I have the Sahara in me. I’m not quite into fizzy drinks but my one weakness is cold, cold Coke. With a lot of ice. On a really hot day. Or after a long savoury meal (buffets!). Do you share my craving? Heh heh…

I think every corner of the world knows Coke. Studies have shown that Coca-Cola is among the best-known trademarks in the world and purportedly the second-most widely understood term in the world after “okay”. So when this brand that needs no publicity invited a small fry like me to its 125th birthday party, I almost fell off my chair. It would be interesting to see what Coke did to get so big. And of course, maybe I get to ‘steal’ the secret formula! (Fat chance. The closely guarded recipe is locked up in a bank vault only few knew.)

First time to a Coca-Cola event & thought I may feel shy if I don't know anybody there. But thankfully, met many blogger friends and any place that a group of bloggers gather, fun is never far behind! The who's who of the Gen Y bloggers are (left to right) : Darren Ang, Mint Leong, Calvin Timo, Tiffany (Coke), Jayley Woo, Estelle Kiora, Alvin Lim, & Yong Wei (front).

The party painted level 3 of the stylish downtown NOMU condo development red. Quite an unusual location to hold a commercial event since it's a private condominium. I guess that reflected how much Coke is a part of people's lifestyle by partying at a residence.

Attended mostly by the honchos of Coca-cola's business partners, the exclusive trade function lasted from 7 - 9 pm on a Monday night (30 May 2011). As you can see, it's not a let your hair down event.

This bucket makes me want to swim in it! I thought the party would serve nothing but the caramel winner so I was pleasantly surprised to find 2 special alcoholic Coke-tails for the night - Cuba Libre (with rum) & 125 Special (with vodka). I just love the name... Coke-tails.

We share the same name & almost same surname! This is blogger Darren Ang who goes by the moniker, Darren Bloggie. From his blog, I know he's ever spontaneous & readily helped me fill in the blank for a shot of this classic Coca-Cola ad. Delicious & Refreshing or not?

Do you know when was Coca-Cola first started? 1886 in downtown Atlanta, Georgia. Do you know when Coca-Cola came to Singapore? 1936, franchised by Fraser & Neave. When did Coca-Cola came to be known as Coke? Coke was first introduced in 1942 and became a registered trademark in 1945.

Since we are bubbling down memory lane, here’re 2 of the most memorable Coca-Cola commercials for me especially the “I’d Like to Teach the World to Sing”. It was the anthem that awakened my social consciousness during childhood.





I used to collect Coke bottles. It didn’t matter how heavy they were, I would hunt for Coke bottles and cans in the countries I visited and lugged them home. I displayed all of them on top of my cupboard and I get such a sense of pride when classmates came over and admired my collection. But I’ve given them to another friend who’s a bigger collector than I am a couple of years back. I know he’d take good care of them. Many of the bottles still have Coke in them after all these years! Mint condition.

Perhaps being a Coke fan paid off. During the party, a lucky draw was held and 15 guests get to walk away with exclusive Coke memorabilia. I was one of the lucky ones!

Got a Coke book from the lucky draw. The commemorative edition is bounded by a red velvet cover embossed with the contours of the classic Coke bottle. Within its pages is a collection of pop art, images, advertisements and celebrity photos with the iconic drink throughout the 125 years.

I may have donated my Coke bottle collection to my friend, but I gained these 2 limited edition commemorative bottles to restart my collection again. The clear glass bottle is a replica of the Hutchinson Bottle used between 1894 and 1901. The Aluminum Contour Bottle was introduced in 2005 for use at special events and a popular collector's item. The Aluminum bottle is marked with the 125th anniversary logo. Who knows, maybe it'll be worth a lot next time like the Andy Warhol's black and white painting of a Coke bottle. It sold for $35 million at Sotheby's in Nov 2010!

On top of the bottles, guests also received the limited edition Coca-Cola stamps in the door gift. Only 2,000 sets of these stamps have been produced. If you are philatelic, you can own them for S$19.90. Order at https://shop.vpost.com.sg/.

Man, I feel like a Coke now after creating this blog entry!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jassy
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 23:43:00

    i love coke. when i visited there, i would be delighted whenever i see CHEERS around because then i could get Coke (at a lower price) after walking the whole morning/noon/afternoon/evening 🙂 and since the food there are spicy, coke is the perfect beverage for that (and maybe water…hehe )

    Reply

    • Darren Ng
      Jun 03, 2011 @ 10:18:53

      i think the cheapest place to get Coke is at the local supermarkets. CHEERS and 7-Eleven aren’t known for lower prices coz they operate 24-hours. but yeah, a nice cold Coke is just great while touring :o)

      Reply

  2. Wong Chee Mun Coke
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 18:53:11

    hi
    im wong from malaysia
    im a coke collector
    i saw u blog have the 125 years coca cola box set
    do u have it??because i try very hard to get but still cant get it
    if u have can u sell to me??
    i hope to heard from u again

    have a nice day

    Reply

Leave a Reply

