Singapore Blog Awards 2011 – History Gets Social!

Attracting more than 1,000 entries and over 70,000 votes casted in support of finalists’ blogs, Singapore Blog Awards 2011 came to a conclusion 2 Saturdays ago (23 Jul 2011) at Shanghai Dolly.

Last year, Celebrate Life Lah! won Best Lifestyle Blog. This year, it didn’t even make it into the Top 10. I also entered my newly started travel blog, Explore Life Lah!, into the Best Travel Blog category and thankfully, it qualified as one of the 10 finalists. Phew! Thanks to all who have voted and supported me in SBA 2011. Those who didn’t, please smear some butter on your buttocks and prepare to be spanked! LOL

Similar to last year, there were a total of 10 main categories with some new categories replacing previous ones. This edition, 4 merchant-linked categories were also added. A BIG THANK YOU to all the sponsors for making the Blog Awards possible for the fourth year running!

This is my second year at the awards and it was especially fun this time round because unlike last year where I was a wreck and didn’t know anybody, this year’s event was a catching up with blogger friends I’ve made in the last 12 months. Plus, I got to be one of the mascots for this year’s theme (History Gets Social!) and played emperor! It was whacked-out fun. Check out the behind-the-scenes of our photoshoot here.

What if Emperor Kang Xi had Facebook and Twitter? What would the longest-reigning emperor in the history of China blog about? I could've brought back this life-size wooden standee after the awards as my 'trophy' and it'll come in handy during the Seventh Month.

That's wild and sexy blogger Estelle of loveyouwrongtime.com. She'll be receiving my medical bill very soon. I'm claiming compensation for the nosebleeds she caused in that leopard preens outfit.

Top Left : With Nabil of whywerunn.wordpress.com. Top Right : Love the thematic approach this year and of course, me taking centrestage throughout! Heh heh... Bottom Left : Finger foods, Domino's Pizza and Tiger Crystal kept everyone belly happpy. Bottom Right : All the winners of this year's blog awards. Congrats ya'all! Next year, save a spot for me okay?

A photo oppotunity with Guest-of-Honour, Major-General (NS) Chan Chun Seng, Acting Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports, and Minister of State for Information, Communications and the Arts. You've met leopard gurl. The hotter version of Chun Li standing next to me is Miss Singapore International 2011 Second Runner-up and Miss Body Beautiful, Cherie Lee (cherielee.sg).

With power blogger Adrian Eugene Seet of superadrianme.com (right) and my former gym buddy, Dennis (left)! Fancy bumping into him here at the awards. Haven't seen him in a long while and looks like he needs to get back to the gym. So do I! (See me sucking in my cheeks very hard to try and appear slimmer next to him?)

With one of the sweetest blogger I know, Germaine Leong of mintleong.sg and sneaking in at the back is funny guy Goh Yong Wei of iamnotfat.net.

A hard-to-come-by reunion of all 10 bloggers who went on the Royal Caribbean Legend of the Seas cruise. New friends and amazing experiences are 2 of the best side effects in joining the blog awards.

Family of bloggers! I think bloggers are incredible people. We create contents despite having to juggle with our day jobs and other responsibilities. We spend countless hours to teach ourselves creative writing, graphic design, photography, photoshop, videography, editing, and blog technologies. Each blog post is a lot of hard work, dedication and sacrifice. Sometimes, it is very disheartening when our blog readership is not high, we never get into the finals of the blog awards or we never win any prizes. But that doesn't mean we are not good enough. I think so long as our blogs reach out to just one person, that's good enough. And that one person is ourself.

This takes narcissism to another level doesn't it? Well, I'm having fun with myself, this blog documents it, and I hope people will join me to Celebrate their Life no matter what Lah!

Coverage of Singapore Blog Awards 2011 in Wan Bao. Gosh... I can't get over how sleazy I look!

Report of the event by My Paper. This pic is making its rounds! Horros! Dressing up to the History Gets Social theme, my get-up is that of an Ah Beng in the 1970s, a 'historic' character of Singapore's culture. I got the retrosome shirt from Chatuchak Market in Bangkok a year ago and the bell-bottom jeans is an original piece from the 70s! It belonged to my mother! That also explained why I was trying VERY HARD to look chow bin (WTF face) in the photos to match the persona. FAIL.

If I said I wasn’t disappointed for not winning, my nose would grow very long. But there are always people better than ourselves and room for improvements. Winning depended on 70% by the judge’s decision and 30% by votes. I didn’t make it into the top 3 most voted blogs in my category so that’s a lot to reflect upon. Perhaps readers like travel blogs with big photos and minimal writing, somewhat of a vertical photo album with captions instead of detailed history and accounts of tourist attactions.

Then again, it could also be the preference of a sole judge overlooking the category. Fourteen judges were assigned to 14 categories, which meant each judge handles one category and not the case of all judges scoring each finalist’s blog to reach an average tabulation. As much as the contest is a test of each blogger’s abilities, it also depends on what topic shines with the judge and a test on their language proficiency as bilingualism is a highlight of the awards with bloggers posting in English, Traditional and Simplified Chinese. It’s tough being a judge! Kudos to them for agreeing to shoulder this task on a voluntary basis!

I would like to sincerely thank the Omy.sg team for creating a platform for Singaporean and Malaysian blogs to gain recognition and all the sponsors for supporting our individual voices!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DC
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 05:35:44

    There’s always next year! Try again!

    Reply

  2. jassy
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 23:43:18

    wow…you look happy on your photos…nice 🙂

    Reply

  3. SUPERADRIANME
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 20:24:13

    Cool!! Don’t worry!! Your posts and blog are still as interesting as ever. ;). Thanks for the photo mention too. :). Hope to see you more often.

    Reply

    • Darren Ng
      Aug 15, 2011 @ 21:40:29

      thanks for gracing my blog! 🙂 yeah, hopefully we can go on more future blog events together so that i can steal your blogging secrets… muahahahaha…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

