Power Seats in Office Politics

If you think this post is about manipulative bosses who give you work that’s not within your job scope and area of expertise and then critising you for doing a bad job; or loading you with tons of work so that you couldn’t handle any of them well and you get penalised during year-end appraisal; or convining colleagues who stick swords and choppers into your back but pretend to be your best lunch buddies; or crafty subordinates who have the most ridiculous reasons for not coming to work or doing a shoddy job… well, this entry is nothing about those kind of office politics.

I don’t like to bitch. *smile*

This is about the kind of office politics that I like to sit on. To be specific, my office got new meeting room chairs delivered today and we’ll soon be sitting on the lap of power. Literally.

Geniuses, superstars, visionary politicians, and inspiring humanitarians… all gathered in one room. With a light-hearted twist!

 The caricatures were designed by my colleagues and the chairs were custom-made in Thailand. Just stepping into the room, I feel like someone important already. But of course, I’m just a bottom feeder in my office foodchain. Heh heh.

When thinking about which famous persons to include as our power chairs, we made a long list. But we only have 10 ‘vacancies’. I have no idea how these 10 personalities were finally decided on but I’m glad that one of my suggestions made it in. Can you guess who I suggested? And which figure is a sort of my personal hero? (Answer below.)

I thought the chairs looked really fun but I’m not too sure white is a wise colour choice. Dirty fingerprints left behind during the unpacking and shifting process already appear as unwelcomed graffiti on the white.

And I wonder if the black will rub off on our clothes to the point that one day, Mao Zedong may be missing an eye, Michael Jackson loses his nose, and Mr Lee Kuan Yew gets a facelift with his wrinkles removed!

Of all the cariatures, I thought the one of dearly-missed Steve Jobs was the most comical. He looks like a monkey with glasses. Or an aging Harry Potter to me. LOL. Shall sit on him one day and see if I can channel his creativity and brilliance through me. Hmm… that statement sounds kinda wrong.

And here are the 2 influential persons that I suggested (Lady Gaga) and look up to (Mohandas Gandhi)…

The chairs really liven up the room with a whimsical flair while at the same time, charging the atmosphere with the ideals and qualities of these power figures that changed the world. Hopefully one day, I’ll end up as a power chair. If that day comes, the portrait above will be perfect as a base for my caricature!

As I sign off this post, I would like to end it with one of my favourite quotes :

“An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind.”Mohandas Gandhi

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gabriel Hkc
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 23:20:49

    Cool man, very creative work of art on chairs…two-thumbs up!

    Reply

  2. jassy
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 11:16:55

    nice chairs! i wonder if we have similar chairs in our office–that would be interesting!

    Merry Christmas! 🙂

    Reply

    • Darren Ng
      Dec 30, 2011 @ 23:34:55

      thanks jassy! hope u had a great Christmas too and ur birthday surprise came true. wanted to leave a comment on ur blog to wish u happy birthday but somehow it doesn’t post after many attempts. have a blessed 2012 🙂

      Reply

  3. Alan
    Apr 13, 2013 @ 10:23:37

    I love these! Curious as to where you sourced them and got them made in Thailand? Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

