Day 045 : Valentine’s Day in Taiwan

Another Valentine’s where my heart is still hollow. And to rub salt into the wound, I’m spending it at the beautiful Ita Shao village at Sun Moon Lake.

Not that I believe love should only be celebrated on February 14 or I can’t function being single, but it’s nice to explore new places with a special someone… To share that breathtaking moment in encountering the world’s wonders, to delight in some exotic tastes, to discover more about each other with every new destination. And collecting all these precious memories along the way to be reminisced sitting on wheelchairs.

But love cannot be forced. So on this day, I shall love myself and do the things I love – exploring, connecting and photographing.

I’m in love with life. Even if I have to do it alone. 

I love nature and when I saw a Butterfly Park on Ita Shao's map, my compass pointed that way. But it was a letdown. Don't talk about butterflies, not even a mosquito was in sight!

I love culture. Ita Shao has a theme park built around the 9 aboriginal tribes here. I thought it's a cultural village sort of attraction but it turned out to be more of an amusement park filled with characters from One Piece. Nevertheless, I had fun taking thrill rides and stuff in a foreign land. Youth culture is a culture too right? Heh.

I love adventure and the chance to experience something new and different. Here's me trying to be Robin Hood or Legolas and the operator said I did a pretty good job for someone's who's pulling bow and arrow for the first time. Woohoo!

I love portraiture. Photography has opened up a whole way to appreciate the world for me and brought me to more places and do more things that I otherwise won't go or do. With these cherry blossoms, I wish you Valentine's Day everyday and great loves evermore!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jassy
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 22:06:14

    it’s a good way to spend vday 🙂 who are you with in taiwan? are you really all by yourself?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

