Day 054 : Casio Exilim ZR200

Thanks to the good folks at Casio Singapore, I was given a set of its latest innovation in digital compact camera – Casio Exilim EX-ZR200. The EX-ZR200 is an upgrade from the EX-ZR100 which I’ve been using all this while (in fact, all my FUNicating 2012 daily shots have been taken with it except Day 036 of the peacock) and I must say it’s a really nifty camera that packs a lot of features such as HDR, HDR-ART, High Speed Shooting, Multi-Frame SR Zoom, etc.

I’m not a technical expert in cameras, all I care about is image outcome and the EX-ZR100 gave me great results in a lot of situations and it’s simple to use. And now, in my hands, is the next evolution! I’ve yet to take it out for test shots but two of the most significant enhancements are :

1) Much Higher Speed. If EX-ZR100 is fast, ZR200 is faster still. As I turned on ZR200, I observed that the start-up time is much faster and the camera shoots at a 0.27 sec interval between shots. It also features a high speed HD Movie Mode which can record at a whooping 1,000 frames per second (fps)! Generally, our television which uses the PAL or NTSC systems only record and playback at a frame rate of 24 – 30 fps. What this means is with EX-ZR200 capturing more frames than the playback system, we can effectively slow down our video without loss of resolution. This is great for slow-mo playback of sports or action videos.

2) DSLR Quality Portraits. I think this function is going to set this compact apart from the competition. Casio has developed a original technique of blurring the background in portraits shots to achieve bokeh effect similar to photos taken by Digital Single Lens Reflex (DSLR) cameras. Once I find a nice model, I’ll test out this function and post up pics.

I’m really excited with this new tool to experiment and play around with. Will take it out for some clicks soon! 😀

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cs yau
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 00:40:40

    The Casio EX-ZR200 is definitely a great camera.The size and price of a compact camera with the ability of a DSLR…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

