Day 067 : Common Mime Caterpillar


Saw a Common Mime caterpillar among a wild cinnamom shurb (of the genus Cinnamomum) on the way to work in the morning and a dead cat in a box near my office during lunch. I wanted to take a photo of the cat, but decided against that macabre intention.

Kenny, my colleague, shared that he would not photograph death because it’s so ugly and depressing. I wanted to ask him if he ever took photos of the food he eats. We are eating dead plants and animals aren’t we? Ha.

But the thought of death does scare me. So sometimes, I console myself by thinking that my life on earth is the catepillar stage. I cannot see very far, only the next leaf meal in front of me. I cannot envision the world bigger than the shrub I’m on. I just eat and grow strong and be the best caterpillar I can be. It doesn’t matter if I can’t see beyond.

Then the day comes that I die… leaving this skin behind… and emerges from my cocoon all ready to fly. Death becomes the key to unlock my wings.

What if we lived as if we knew we would fly one day? How would we start living now?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eugene lee
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 01:00:37

    Death is scary but death of love ones is worst.

    Reply

  2. Eugene Lee
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 11:08:59

    Celebrate LIFE!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

