Day 068 : Common Mime Butterfly

Yesterday, I saw a vibrantly-coloured caterpillar of the Common Mime butterfly on the way to work. Today, I saw its squashed, dead adult.

Such is life… Here today, gone tomorrow.

But this butterfly will soar once more… when it decomposes and turns into ashes, and the wind picks it up, and joins it to the countless other remnants collected by time.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie Bananie
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 16:42:22

    It’s ironic that you wrote about photographing death yesterday, and here it is today. Rather sad, but I was thinking along the same line today while walking to work – what if this is my last breath?

    Reply

    • Darren Ng
      Mar 08, 2012 @ 17:54:45

      Actually, life and death is all around us, just how big is the thing that died. Heh. Yesterday I didn’t photograph the dead cat and today, this dead butterfly was in my path. So what if your last breath happens today? What’s the first thought that comes to mind?

      Reply

      • Annie Bananie
        Mar 08, 2012 @ 23:32:28

        Har har I don’t know what the “first thought” would be as there were too many random, superficial thoughts that just popped into my head. “Is it possible to just drop dead in the middle of the street?” “Who would find my body first?” “Will it hurt?” Silly, I know 😛

Leave a Reply

