Day 074 : Transformers Cybertron Con 2012

When it comes to toys when I was a boy, my top 5 playthings were (1) myself (1) Zoids (2) M.A.S.K. (3) He-Man (4) Transformers and (5) Barbie.

Yeah, I have a feminine side and not afraid to acknowledge it. But my parents were rolling their eyes at the sight of me with my Dream Glow Barbie doll. That was until they saw me ‘marrying’ He-Man with Dream Glow. What they didn’t see was the post-wedding plas-rotica.

Being a sort of born-again Transformers fan after the movie franchise, I was curious what a sub sci-fi convention would be like when I heard news about Cybertron Con 2012. Especially since it’s being held in Singapore for the first time (I think). Thankfully, my company, Digimagic Communications, was involved in producing a cool interactive installation for the convention and I got to check it out as a company blog assignment.

Maybe because I went on the last day just an hour before the event was taken apart (had been busy with work and my granny’s hospitalisation), I didn’t think the convention had anything that was ‘more than meets the eye’.

Except of course, the exhibit that my company produced lah. LOL… 老王卖瓜,自卖自夸!不要脸!

This hairstyle and dressing has got to go. A kid at the convention called me 'auntie'! I know this is a Transformers convention but I'm no male-to-female transformer! Hmmm... Maybe embracing my feminine side wasn't such a good idea.

Transformers Cybertron Con 2012 was held at Resorts World Sentosa Convention Centre from 11 - 14 Mar 2012. Entrance fee : S$12.00.

Entrance area of the convention was dressed up like a war zone with cut-out robots that were cost-effective to produce and look realistic in photos.

First generation Transformers toys (1984 - 1990). A flash of nostalgia when I saw these packaging boxes.

I think this is one of the first generation Megatron, leader of the Decepticons.

Early version of Optimus Prime, leader of the Autobots.

Bumblebee in an actual bee suit circa 2000 under the Beast series.

A pissed off hamster in the Transformers Beast collection.

Movie merchandise. This huge Bumblebee toy by Hasbro is available in stores now.

The centrepiece at the Cybertron Con was a 22-foot tall Optimus Prime.

Prime photo spot with the giant robot. Do I really look like an auntie?!

From no-nonsense mega Optimus to playful Kre-O miniature Optimus.

Kre-O Bumblebee.

The convention saw many creative renditions of Optimus Prime and Bumblebee in a redesign the robots contest for professional model makers and hobbyists. This hairy version of Optimus Prime was by my friend Sze J. I wasn't aware it's his work. I thought it looked really unique so I took a photo then I heard his voice behind me saying, "Very nice hor?"

My favourite was this absolutely hilarious piece titled "I Would Kill for Those Shoes". The backstory was that Optimus Prime came to Singapore and joined our nation's favourite past-time, shopping! Hmm... robot and Barbie... looks like the artist, Yang Jian, and I would really get along. LOL.

Now we know why Optimus Prime wanted those heels.

Such a sweet and soft touch to metal that brings out the women in Optimus Prime. Is there a female robot in Transformers?

Optimus Wolf. Winner of the redesign contest (Professional Category).

Optimus White Knight. Winner of the redesign contest (Hobbyist Category).

Cybertron Con's version of the Oscar statue for the contest winners - an all-gold Optimus Prime!

And now… presenting my company’s solution to add fun to the convention – an interactive projection where kids can ‘dance’ and ‘punch’ Bumblebee! Utilising Augmented Reality (AR) technology, we similated a drop-in visit by Bumblebee who would dance with visitors, and when hit, crumbles to form the car.

Visitors stand at the activation area to start the interactive sequence with Bumblebee.

Bumblebee appears onscreen next to these children and invited them to dance with him. It's a boogie-woogie good time for the kids.

The kids 'hitting' Bumblebee. Upon receiving the punch, Bumblebee crumbles on-screen as Kre-O toy bricks and reforms as a car and drives off.

Well, that’s a quick tour of the Cybertron Con 2012. Wished I had more time as there were some other stuff that caught my eye.

I would also have loved to sit down a re-watch retro episodes of the Transformers animated series that were screening during the convention. So fun to feel like a kid again!

Leave a Reply

