Day 123 : Marici Goddess

Popped by Thekchen Choling during lunch since it’s not too far from my office to hunt for today’s shot. I came to the Tibetan temple about 2 years ago as a volunteer photographer to help document one of their charity events called Project Maude. The temple’s bejewelled goddesses had since left a deep impression in me and I wanted to go back to shoot again.

I didn’t stay very long this afternoon, just enough time to stumble upon this angle that I kinda like because the goddess’ face looks so calm and unaffected by the ostentatious ornaments crowding her. And her hand seem to be offering something, an invitation to share her inner calm perhaps.

I’m totally clueless about the goddesses in Tibetan Buddhism so I’m not sure if this is the image of the Marici Goddess. If you can identify her, please enlighten me. Thanks.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adam
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 10:30:10

    Hi Darren

    This picture is one of the three faces of Namgyalma(Ushnishavijaya) . Normally she is depicted with the other two Buddhas (Amitayus and White Tara) . The three Buddhas is known as “The Three Long Life Deity” .

    Very nice angle and pic you took!

    Cheers
    Adam

    Reply

Leave a Reply

