Day 130 : A Practice of Forgiveness

I haven’t been so infuriated in a long time but my blood hit boiling point today. I was so not used to getting angry that I actually felt faint and I could feel a grudge forming. From the moment the offence took place, the hatchet began burrowing deeper and deeper into my spirit.

That person was a total jerk. Since he made himself out to be an asshole, consistently, I contemplated how I was going to screw it. Then a worship song came over my earphones. The song wasn’t about forgiveness, but I heard a voice telling me to vanquish hatred. Jesus was innocent but He accepted the injustice, bore the tortures and died for our sins. Without holding a grudge.

Who am I then to not forgive?

“Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamour and slander be put away from you, along with all malice. Be kind to  one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave  you.” Ephesians 4:31-32

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie Bananie
    May 10, 2012 @ 02:33:46

    I had a similar experience a few weeks ago. I went into a cathedral to calm my frustration and saw a painting of Jesus on the cross. The Scripture that popped into my head was Matthews 18:21-22, the bit about forgiving seventy times seven. “Who am I then to not forgive?” Exactly my thoughts 😉

    Reply

    • Darren Ng
      May 11, 2012 @ 08:19:49

      sometimes i think forgiveness is a sign of weakness because i am not strong enough or clever enough to know how to fight back. it’s like u have no other choice but to forgive. but Jesus had a choice and there’s no greater power and strength than choosing to forgive.

      Reply

  2. Janice
    May 10, 2012 @ 10:20:59

    as for me, when i feel super angry.. i will say the following line Luke 23:34 “Father, forgive them; for they do not know what they are doing.”
    and i actually felt good after that.

    Reply

    • Darren Ng
      May 11, 2012 @ 08:21:59

      thanks for sharing this verse Janice. it’s a powerful verse because to say that, i must have first forgiven and then ask someone who may take revenge on my behalf to forgive the trepass too. so wonderful!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

