Day 146 : Terminal 21 Bangkok

Bringing the world to Bangkok takes on a whole new meaning with Terminal 21 – a gorgeous lifestyle mall with an airport theme at the heart of the city’s Sukhumvit business district.

Bangkok may have no lack of swanky, glossy malls but the toilets alone make Terminal 21 a winner and a place definitely worth checking out. Or well, in this case, checking in!

View of Terminal 21 through the open roof of Asok BTS Station.

I wouldn’t have known about Terminal 21 if not for my Thai colleague, Jan, who brought me here for lunch. The poor gal has been working so hard on some of the projects I handle that I’m compelled to treat her to a good meal.

The mall has a different country theme for each level.

From London to San Francisco all in a matter of minutes.

A colourful constellation of Turkish lamps at the Istanbul level.

Great attention to detail and synergy in decor between Terminal 21’s developer and retail tenants.

I’ve never been to Japan but it seems I’ve seen the best part here at Terminal 21. Love the abundance of set pieces to pose with.

Even the toilets are elaborately and thematically dressed up. I can’t believe this is a passageway leading to the toilet!

I didn’t need the loo but I went to almost all the toilets and loitered around to take photos. I must’ve seem weird. But I wasn’t the only one. Heh heh…

Not into stuffed toys and animals, especially at my age where being seen with something cutesy like this is vomit inducing, but this hedgehog from the shop Anee Park is just too irresistable! So I departed with 250bht and brought back a piece of Terminal 21 with me.

I’m so glad to discover Terminal 21 during this Bangkok trip. Really love the strong concept and creativity in both the mall design and eclectic merchandise offered by the shopowners.

Generally, I’m not a big fan of retail therapy and find window shopping pointless. But Terminal 21 is definitely my gateway to becoming a shopping king!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. spunktitud3
    May 29, 2012 @ 01:04:19

    Think I know why u like d hedgehog – it reminds me of Joy! LOL Awesome photos, look forward to checking out Terminal 21 d next time I head over to the Land of Smiles 🙂

    Reply

    • Darren Ng
      May 29, 2012 @ 19:04:16

      come to think of it, u got an excellent point! hahaha… yeah, do check out terminal 21 and hopefully, more developments in sgp can have that kind of personality too 🙂

      Reply

  2. JuNNy - Jan
    May 30, 2012 @ 01:03:17

    My fav toilet is ‘Bakery Restroom’. I smell bread in the hot oven!
    First time I stopped there and read how to make bread :P.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

