Day 165 : Samsung Galaxy S3

Barely five weeks of owning the HTC One X, it got snatched in Kuala Lumpur on 2 June 2012 and I had to get a replacement phone with no re-contract price discounts. I paid S$318 for the HTC One X when I recontracted with Singtel in April 2012. I called Singtel to ask if they could extend the same price as a goodwill in view of the circumstance that I was made to lose my phone and the fact that I’ve been a loyal customer for a long time.

Well, business is business for them and all they could give me was S$100 off my phone bill deducted over two months. How very shrewd. No wonder they are Singapore’s biggest telco company. S$100 off the bill is something, but it’s not going to help much when a new HTC One X costs S$898 without recontracting discounts.

HTC One X Vs. Samsung Galaxy S3

So I went on a hunt to look for mobile phone retail shops that offer the lowest prices. I didn’t have much time to do my research and relied mostly on my friend’s help. Our search brought me to Hi Tech Mobile who advertised on its website that the HTC One X is going for S$720. That’s the cheapest of all the other retail shops. However, when my friend called to confirm the price, she was told that the HTC One X actually costs S$750. That’s the same price offered by other competitor shops!

My friend called another shop in Far East Plaza (can’t remember the name) to check the price of HTC One X but when she got down to the shop on the same day, the price had increased by S$30. In other words, be careful with these shops who practice false advertising to get you to their shop so that you will relent to a higher price since you’ve taken the trouble to go there.

Anyhoo, we decided on WhyMobile at Far East Plaza since it seemed to be consistent with its pricing although I was told by my friend’s friend who works at a fashion boutique there that the boss is kinda snooty and service’s bad. But when I was purchasing my phone, I thought the service wasn’t a nightmare and the guy serving me patiently redid my screen protector several times to get rid of trapped air bubbles.

HTC One X Vs. Samsung Galaxy S3

I had wanted to get back the same phone, HTC One X at S$750. But with all the hype about Samsung Galaxy S3, I was swayed even though it cost S$880, S$130 more. The screen protector cost S$8 so my total pain was S$888 (heart-ache-ache-ache). Having used both the HTC One X and Samsung Galaxy S3, I can’t help but feel that I should’ve stuck with One X. Here are three reasons why :

1. One X was plug-and play on my home PC. When I plugged in S3 to my PC, I was told the device wasn’t recognised. Apparently, I have to install a program called Kies for it to work. Kies is kinda like Apple’s iTunes, which I find a hassle because I have to install it to port files. My office laptop does not allow us to install anything without administrator rights. However, when I plugged my S3 into my office laptop, I could transfer files without any problem.

2. S3 doesn’t come preloaded with social media apps and photo editor. With One X, Facebook and some other social media apps come pre-installed and the camera comes with a bevy of shooting modes and editing tools. For S3, I had to download them myself which kinda showed that the device isn’t in tune with the times and user’s needs. Downloading the apps required expenditure on my data allocation. With Singtel’s new 2GB data cap, extra downloads mean hitting the ceiling sooner and potentially having to pay for data usage although the apps weren’t huge files. But in these times where Singtel cutting my plan’s 12GB data allowance to 2GB, every KB counts.

3. S3’s smart speller is rather dumb. I’ve used Samsung phones before and had always taken issue with its smart speller. It doesn’t pick out the right word and when I put in ‘…’ at the end of a sentence which I’m very fond of doing, S3 stops at just one ‘.’ so I had to delete the empty spaces and key ‘…’ twice. I didn’t face this problem with One X.

I am a tech idiot and a rather unsophisticated mobile phone user so my appreciation of a device is how easily it lets me do what I want to. Up to this point, I don’t feel that paying more for S3 is justified. The speed and response of both phones which use quad-core processors are negligible and all other specs are pretty similar. The only difference I feel is that S3 is 4G enabled. But I won’t be using 4G unless I upgrade my plan (which means more $$$).

Cool Apps to Have

Since I’ve gotten the S3, I’ll have to make the best use of it. Two features I like about S3 is that it comes with a Data Usage app that charts how much you’ve used with a warning line drawn across the 2GB mark and it also allows for unused apps to be kept into a folder to de-clutter the screen or hide the apps from pesky friends who like to help themselves to your phone (I find that extremely rude).

Here are some apps I find pretty amazing and you can download them free on iPhone or Android by searching for the names listed here…

Airdroid – This app allows me to sync my mobile phone to my PC with the need of USB cables or installation of any programs. Search for ‘Airdroid’ on Google Play store. I’m currently using this to transfer photos and music files between my phone and PC without having to download and install Kies.

Line Camera – A photo app that lets you add cutesy graphic elements as such diamonds, hearts, text, cartoons, etc on your photo. I tried it and it’s kinda fun.

Pixlr-O-Matic – Very cool app that lets you add lighting effects and photographic treatments that turns any photo into a work of art. Love it!

Good ‘ol Instagram getting high with Absolut satisfaction and immediate photographic gratification.

Line Camera giving this lemon coloured doggy cake lots of hearts, stars and sparkles.

The artistic and cool preset lighting filters on Pixlr-O-Matic adds many dimensions of colouration to photos that give them an artictic, avant-garde quality.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Scot
    Jun 17, 2012 @ 04:06:27

    LOLo, you don’t have to be tech wiz, you have the best looking skin in town!

    Reply

  2. Kelvin Ang
    Jun 17, 2012 @ 07:17:29

    Actually, Sinktel clarified about the 12GB thingy. If you are an existing subscriber, your data plan will remain at 12GB cap and will not be reduced. However, once you reconstruct and pick up another phone at their “discounted” price, the data cap will drop to 2GB.

    So basically in order for those heavy data users on Sinktel, the idea is not to renew contract.

    More details here. http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/Singapore/Story/A1Story20120615-352889/2.html

    Reply

    • Darren Ng
      Jun 17, 2012 @ 10:06:09

      lol at your term SINKtel. i am aware that i m still entitled to the 12GB quota so long as i dun recontract after 1 Jul 2012. but i think other telcos will be imposing this soon.

      Reply

      • Kelvin Ang
        Jun 17, 2012 @ 11:03:35

        I hope not but I will say the same as what stinktel has mentioned, it should not pose a problem for normal users, unless you use your mobile phone to tether and use that internet connection for your laptop.

  3. Guillaume
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 18:59:54

    I do like your last picture. Really nice shot 😉 Sorry I have not read your post on S3, not really interested. Just your pics made me stopped on this post…

    Reply

    • Darren Ng
      Jul 07, 2012 @ 21:53:20

      thanks for dropping by my blog post. no worries about reading, just sharing my experience with the phone. you can achieve the effects on the photos you take too with the photo apps mentioned in the blog entry 🙂 have fun!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

