Day 223 : Live to Eat and Eat to Live

Some people eat to live while others live to eat. I am both. Fortunately, I have a ravenous appetite and undiscerning preference for food, which means I can eat a lot and taste many-a-good-things But unfortunately, my waistline doesn’t hide my bottomless pit anymore.

One of my favourite food haunts are the two adjoining hawker centres at Whampoa Drive. My parents and I love coming here for the popular fishhead steamboat that only opens for dinner. It is always a long queue and it is not unusual for us to wait up to an hour to be served our orders.

But the wait is worth it. Plus it let us have the time to chat, joke and commune with each other. This is one of the many simple pleasures that I treasure with my folks. I am a lucky man.

Leave a Reply

