Day 261 : Bangkok Dangerous

Was almost robbed in the wee hours of this morning. Returning from supper around 1:30am, I walked along the main road leading to my hotel. It was drizzling and all the shops were closed. I saw 2 young guys sitting in front of a shopfront.

On seeing me, one of them sprang to his feet and approached me to sell tidbits. He was holding a big bunch of transparent plastic bags containing packeted chips of sorts in a green packaging with his left hand. His right hand was behind him. He spoke Thai and was very insistent on me to buy something.

I almost relented because I felt kind of bad for this guy to be selling tidbits under the rain so late at night. However, I took a glance to the side of the road and noticed that his friend was on a bike and trailing us.

Immediately an alarm went off in my head. Pity turned to panic as I realised they could be robbers. I hastened my pace and at this point, the guy came in front of me to block my path. Fear was mounting and half-blinded by panic, I pushed past the guy and jogged away.

After some distance, I turned back to see the 2 guys by the roadside chatting, under the rain. I shudder to think that the guys could’ve planned on robbing me had I stopped and took out my wallet then getting away on the bike. Maybe that guy who approached me was holding a knife in his right hand. So always be suspicious and not let compassion cloud logic when approached by strangers on the streets of Bangkok at night.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie Bananie
    Sep 20, 2012 @ 09:41:11

    Ronald McDonald’s face scared the crap out of me. Glad everything was okay, though it sure sounded like a close call…!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

