Day 293 : Walkabout Sydney

Beautiful weather today with bright sunshine and just the right amount of cold for a comfortable walk around Circular Quay. So armed with my cameras and a huge smile inside, I set off to remember the famous Sydney waterfront and uncovered a lot more than I did 12 years ago…

Leaving my crib for this trip. My friends from Sydney have kindly put me up at their apartment at Dangar Place. It is in the neighbourhood known as Chippendale off a street called Abercrombie.

On the way to Central Railway Station, a 7-minute walk from Dangar Place.

Riding the railway in year 2000.

Circular Quay Station, Sydney, Australia

Station with a view!

What better way to complement the grand view of Circular Quay than with fresh fish and chips and creamy shrimp salad? Well, it’s a bad way actually. As soon as I walked onto the quay holding this, the seagulls came. Before long, one of them took a dive at my food and I can’t tell if the white cream on my salad was not mixed with birdie poo. Lunch, which cost A$14.50, was ruined!

Checking out Circular Quay in 2000.

Didn’t see this crane fountain that I took a photo with in 2000 during this recent trip. Guess the birds took off. UPADTE : Made a boo-boo. The crane fountain is still in Darling Harbour and NOT at Circular Quay. Thanks to Fern who shared with me in the comment section of this post. I’m such a muddlehead.

Photo of Sydney Bridge taken in year 2000.

Sydney Bridge taken in 2012 with a feathered friend. This is one of my favourite photos on this trip. Not perfect framing, but a perfect moment with the seagull looking into my phone cam.

Didn’t get to see Sydney Opera House upclose in 2000.

Taken in 2000 with Pentax. It’s a film camera back then.

Sydney Opera House

Finally got a chance to see the iconic building that means Australia.

Reflection of Circular Quay off a glass side of the Opera House.

Me in 2012. Some things never change. I just realised from the year 2000 photos I dug up for this blog entry that caps and waistpouches are my fashion staples.

Moving on from the Opera House, I crossed over to the adjourning Royal Botanic Gardens. It’s a really picturesque place.

Sydney, Royal Botanic Gardens, Government House, Australia

The historical Government House within the Gardens’ grounds.

Sydney Royal Botanic Gardens

Art Gallery of New South Wales, Sydney, Royal Botanic Gardens

Art Gallery of New South Wales just outside the Gardens.

They are not sisters and more than just good friends. You get the drift…

St. Mary’s Cathedral. No photography inside though. Quite a pity coz the interior has great potential to be photogenic.

A French fountain at Hyde Park. The park is right opposite the cathedral.

Retracing the steps of my Circular Quay visit 12 years ago and leaving new footprints on my Sydney trail this trip made for an amazing day. I took this vacation alone. I felt I wanted to just be by myself. And I’m glad I didn’t bore me🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fern
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 23:06:30

    Hi, I stumbled across your blog and have enjoyed reading it. I like your sense of humour and of course, your beautiful photographs! I thought I’ll point out the photos you captioned checking out Circular Quay in 2000 and the crane fountain, they are actually in the Darling Harbour area. The cranes are still there when I was there last month.

    Reply

    • Darren Ng
      Nov 27, 2012 @ 16:18:11

      hey fern… thanks for dropping by my blog and ur compliments… *blush* and thanks heaps for pointing out that the crane fountain is in darling harbour! such a boo-boo. memories of my year 200 trip are hazy and i gotten the placed mixed up. i’ve updated the photo caption. thanks again for correcting me🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

